We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous food, very good service”
Review of Bamboo

Bamboo
Ranked #19 of 72 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, very good service”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ate here on a Christmas works night out and everyone agreed the food was fab! The service was good, attentive without being overpowering and they coped well with us being all of dither ordering and paying etc. My partner and I shared the Thai banquet for two which was delicious and excellent value - the soup was outstanding!

We had paid a deposit in advance as a Christmas party booking but I thought it was still really good value despite the number of drinks we managed....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouBLou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    60
    37
    11
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cockermouth
2 reviews
“1st class!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just getting round to writing this review following visit 2 months ago. Food and service was excellent. Would definately recommend, went in a group of 4 and had a very enjoyable experience. Staff were very helpful, helped us in our choice (there is a lot to choose from...) nothing was too much effort! All in all a great experience, due to visit again soon and looking forward to it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksonsCockermouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have visited Bamboo several times and have never been disappointed. The place can be very busy on Friday and Saturday evenings but the service is always good and above all friendly. The food is in my first rate. If you want a quiet meal go through the week or Sunday, if you like the buzz then Friday or Saturday but you will have to book on those nights. The restaurant is well located in the market place area which is good if you don’t want to be in the thick of the revelry near the town centre pubs at weekends. There is a car park very close by also and there are some nice pubs in the market place for a quiet glass before or after the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kandaharG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very nice chinese food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have only actaully had takeaway food from this lovely restaurant, but the food is delightful and we have never been disappointed. When I've been to collect my food Bamboo is always extremely busy in the restaurant and I think it has a very good reputation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Petali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Second time at the Bamboo this time with the family and opted for the chinese banquet for four.Everything was really nice and the staff were happy when we asked for one of the options to be changed for another item (sons aversion to prawns). Alll in all a good time was had. Thanks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Downtrodden_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing