We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Get Together”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
71 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pamelawM7...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Get Together”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Big White House was the perfect accommodation for our family get together. It was very clean, well laid out and had lots of dishes, glasses and cutlery to accommodate our party of 20. It's central location is great for getting out and about, the enclosed large garden makes it perfect if you have young children or dogs. We will certainly consider staying again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trek67642...
1 review
“An exellent house for a relaxing stag party”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is huge, and I don't think that the pictures do it justice! We booked this place for the week and I think I speak for us all when I say we had a really good time. I've just checked out of rehab and thought it was time to write a review haha, as a week is a really long time for a stag party! The house is situated around 12 miles away from Workington, which when we got there on Tuesday we were informed by the nice young lady at the bowling alley that "everything decent to do in town is closed until Thursday". So we went to the nearest Tesco for supplies and made our own entertainment back at the house.

On the Saturday we had a walk along to the next village which was around a 15 min walk. There are a couple of pubs which we tried. The Masons Arms had very nice, reasonably priced food and was quite a quiet place...until we arrived and about 10 mins later a hen party from Newcastle arrived which made things interesting for the next hour or so and defiantly livened the place up.

All in all, a great house in a great location and would recommend both this house and the pubs down the road!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The big White House is an excellent house for large gatherings.. Plenty of ensuite rooms and sitting rooms make this an ideal base for a family get together

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgibson14...
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked this for a family holiday and we've had a great week. This house is well equipped and has everything you could possibly need for a big crowd. Plenty of storage space! There were 18 of us and we had a great time. We made good use of the grounds with the kids who had lots of fun, riding their bikes, meeting the cows and playing games.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a family get together”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here for a family 70th birthday, the house is big great for games with the Pool table and many lounge rooms. We had good weather so made use of the large space outside. The house is well kept and clean.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loulew_11
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great house for a family gathering”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Plenty of space for 3 generations to get together, and away from each other too!
Kitchen well equipped, nice touches of washing up liquid, dishwasher powder etc.
Feels a bit like a care home, some rooms very cosy and dated but very clean and warm.
A location map on the notice board would be an idea, especially as we arrived in the dark and unsure of bearings.
Comments / tips book would also be good to learn from others.
Overall very successful weekend

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennimont...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location & size but could be improved!”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Joined 23 members of my family for the week at the Big White House to celebrate some big birthdays. The location is absolutely perfect, close to the Lakes but far enough away to get us out of the tourist mayhem! The addition of a hot tub and archery session on site was fantastic. I was however a bit disappointed with the communal areas. The dining area is fantastic but the living room is far too small so everyone has to stay at the table, while the kitchen is a big challenge when cooking for so many. It's worth noting that it feels really quite hostel like, with small bedrooms and lots of single beds. Its a great house but it needs a bit of tlc perhaps, with broken toilet seat, old worn carpets, dirty paint work, ill fitting doors, and a hob that is in serious need of a service. All in all it was good value for money, but just needs a little bit of work.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thank you for the Four Stars and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We value your comments and will add them to on going maintenance routine.
The Stay Lakeland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing