We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant says ste chizzy”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Big White House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Farrierre...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One great room, lots of ordinary rooms”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is an unusual house, and like most, we came to the White House because it catered for a large extended family group. It was my brothers birthday. This house has one great room - the dining room. Very few houses have such a large lovely room. Its great for everyone sitting together. We had a meal / MurderMystery and the room was perfect.
However good the dining room is, its not a whole house. The rest of the house is less than perfect. Our room was squashed to say the least. The toilet door didn't open properly because it hit the bed. The drawers on the cupboard didn't open because they were blocked by the bedside table. Swinging a cat was out of the question.
The kitchen is fine, but for such a big dining room, its not really what you need to make big meals. Its a bit cramped and there isn't really the workspace to cook for so many.
Overall, whilst we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, I left thinking this was a house with one great room and a lot of very ordinary rooms.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste C
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brilliant says ste chizzy”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

stayed here for my friends 50th what an amazing place room lovely and clean you cant beat it we hired 2 hottubs on our stay and we used the bbq went into carlisle and keswick why we was down there loved it would recommend this place

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C
Murton, Co Durham United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Helens 30th.”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at The Big White House from Friday to Monday for our daughters 30th. The group was made up of friends and family of all ages. All went well with the large dining area and generally enough space so no one felt crowded at any time. The situation is good with easy access to both Cockermouth and Maryport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole weekend
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernie05
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday had by all !”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There were 21 of us staying at the Big White House in Cockermouth for a week over the Whit holiday. We ranged from age 2 - 83 !. The house fitted us all in perfectly, which is something we struggle to find. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need. The bedrooms are comfortable each containing a toilet and sink, and then there are three bathrooms dotted around, which was enough for us all to share.
The best room in the house is the dining room, which fitted us all in and room for more, We spent lots of time here eating (obviously), chatting, playing games, studying etc. Fantastic ! There is a summer house outside which we played in quite a lot, children and adults. We also hired a hot tub which was fantastic!
The downstairs lounge is a bit of a struggle to fit everyone in, and does not have a TV, so the family had to split up around the other two lounges if we were having a telly night in.
Wasn't much of a problem.
Excellent Holiday had by all !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dining Room
Liked least: Downstairs Lounge
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky N
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect property for the perfect weekend”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the house for a hen weekend with a group of 20 women of varying ages.
Every one of them loved the house and thought it was the perfect property for our weekend.
The booking was handled very professionally and they couldn't have been more helpful.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend anyone else to as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house and number of rooms
Liked least: The best lounge was upstairs, this would have been better downstairs.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxnik
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost perfect New Year Break”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From walking into the property we felt that every effort had been made to welcome us - the table was laid for a party, complete with crackers and party poppers, and a handwritten sign!
While the place did feel a bit like a B&B, with twenty in the group that's always likely. There were lots of clever touches in the setup of the house (pool room and home cinema rooms separated from nearly all the bedrooms!), comfortable beds, plenty of catering equipment provided (sometimes in large houses we've rented this hasn't been the case), good fridge and freezer provision and a good supply of consumables like dishwasher tablets (essential!), toilet rolls, soap, towels etc.
While the rural location was peaceful with good views (and the Tesco delivery made it), we did find that we really had to drive back into the national park for exploration - we like to walk from the door, but the disadvantage of the Big White House is that it's a little too far to walk with families to the stunning Cumbrian mountains, so we ended up driving out to Bassenthwaite and Ennerdale each day rather than staying local. But that's a small price to pay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: The corridor carpet...
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous family weekend”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were a three generation extended family group which included 7 children under 5. and 16 adults The Big White House was perfect for us. Brilliantly equipped kitchen with ample supplies of crockery and cutlery, lots of lovely big pots,pans and serving dishes.and 2 kettles and toasters so no queuing.
Very attractively decorated,a few ornamental touches but uncluttered enough to feel comfortable with a gaggle of little ones.
The bedding was lovely, soft,fresh and warm ,in fact the whole house was spotlessly clean
Having a few separate living rooms suited us well as there was always somewhere quiet and comfortable to retire as a respite from the bustle
We were particularly touched to find the house had been prepared for Christmas with a tree and decorations. The cherry on top was the dining table laid with crackers and little novelties for the children.
We had a fantastic weekend and would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was warm and spacious
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing