We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous little place!”

Review of The Saddlery

West Croft Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Croft Cottages
Kitchen Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
West Croft Cottages
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Stairwell
The Saddlery
The Games Room
Full Size Snooker Table
Bassenthwaite Lake
Scafell Pike from Seathwaite
Buttermere with Fleetwith Pike
Ennerdale
Loweswater
Buttermere, Crummock and Loweswater
Glenterra Valley between Skiddaw & Blencathra
towards Haystacks
wordsworth's birthplace
derwentwater jetty
cockermouth
Keswick town centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natalie A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous little place!”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Had a really lovely stay at the Saddlery this weekend. Mark was so helpful sending us all kinds if info of places to go and things to see. The cottage itself is just perfect, so cute and cosy but suprisingly spacious. We will definitely re visit and recommend, the only negative was that we werent there long enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2018
Natalie,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Saddlery!
See you soon!
Best regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
816elizaa
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy dog friendly cottage! ”
Reviewed February 26, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely cottage in the village of Brigham which is quite a busy little village these days. The Stables was fabulous for our visit with great shower, heating & log burner. Being dog friendly was an added bonus. Only downside no outside area really to speak of as the cars all park close by the cottages & the yard has residents & their cars opposite. If like us, however, it’s somewhere to entertain inside then the open plan space was great, & we just got hold of some extra crockery & cutlery. I would just that the heating controls were a bit tricky to understand, but if you’re familiar with the type of dial control you’ll be fine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2018
Eliza,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We are going to add some extra words to our booking information form about how to use the central heating!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Best regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niale-k
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy cottage with all the necessary amenities.”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you like the north Lakes and you like a quiet village location, this is the cottage for you.
The saddlery is one of three converted cottages that looks onto two other private houses in a small courtyard.
You do need a car to get around to visit tourist spots but there are plenty walks and sights not too far away. The management (Mark) sent great information / ideas on what to do in the area which we found useful.
The cottage itself is cosy and has all you need. The washing machine was a big plus for us especially having two teenagers who enjoy outdoor activities. Unfortunately, it wasn't working in our cottage but Mark got someone onto it as soon as possible and we had use of it by the end of the week (-Mark was able to let us use the other cottages' washing machines during handover periods which helped).
The beds were great and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.
Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Central heating
Liked least: The thick smoke from the oven when it was turned on due to fat residue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna M
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my partner and our dog had the pleasure of a four night stay at The Saddlery from 30th December 2015 - 3rd January 2016 and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Saddlery was easy to find and the parking was right outside of the front door. We were welcomed with a bottle of Champagne and a big box of chocolates which was very kind and a welcoming touch. The living room/kitchen was a great size and had everything we needed and more. The wood burner was just so relaxing. The bathroom had a shower and a bath which were very clean. The bedroom with the double bed was lovely, the bed comfortable and the room very country like with the wooden beams and the stone walls. We didn't use the second bedroom as there was only the two of us but that was also very nice.
During our stay we visited Keswick, Glenridding, Howtown and Windermere. Some a little closer to the cottage than others but depending on how far or little you want to travel, there's something for everyone. Thank you very much to Mark for renting the cottage to us and being very helpful leading up to the stay. We thoroughly enjoyed it and already cannot wait to return.

If I had to point out any room for improvement I would recommend:
- More than one toilet roll
- More wood for the burner
- We could not pick up the wifi on our devices and therefore had no signal while in the cottage (surprisingly nice)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner/homely feel
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2016
Dear Jenna,

Thank you for your very kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed our New Year's special goodies!

The WiFi is now working (a cable had somehow become unplugged!).

We hope that we shall see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place to base your lakes visit”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely and cosy. An ideal base when visiting the lakes. Service was excellent. Would definitely stay again...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samrobert...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely complex of 3!”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

These cottages are easy to find, fantastic if you have a family, no problems parking, has all the amenities for a lovely relaxing stay. I loved the front room with the log fire, The bedrooms equally had character, lovely beams and I couldn't fault one thing! Well, the kitchen gets a bit hot as the air doesn't really move around. There is a patio area too, which we opened the doors and used two chairs to sit outside and played with the dog for 2 hours in the sun! It's not in a village with a pub but Cockermouth has some nice restaurants and pubs, some dog friendly too, we had a lovely meal in an italian restaurant and liked Cockermouth town cenre, lovely walking around. It was a lovely stay, very easy to book, find. Very relaxing thankyou!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Front room!
Liked least: Snooker - because I lost!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable and comfortable stay at The Saddlery.”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in The Saddlery for 3 nights/ 4 days and found it a very enjoyable and comfortable stay, everything we needed was available to us in the cottage with a good welcome pack and local area info.

Location wise it was ideal for us, not in the town centre but not too far away from Cockermouth, brilliant.

Will definitely be planning a return visit and recommending to friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing