We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class Hotel Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st Class Hotel Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over a weekend whilst attending a friends wedding. The staff were excellent, friendly and professional. We were fortunate to get a free room upgrade, not that it was needed as the rooms are lovely, well decorated and well cared for. Needless to say, the upgrade was appreciated and topped off a first class hotel stay.
Breakfast was extremely tasty and the bar sells the local Jennings ales. My wife and I would definitely use this hotel again. Whilst it was a little more expensive than other local hotels, it wasn't that much more. Plus, as breakfast is included and it is right in the centre of Cockermouth with free parking, it is all much of the same.

Well done to all at The Trout!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    127
    40
    18
    9
See reviews for
119
282
5
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having lived near Cockermouth for some years and now living in Scotland, I'd always fancied staying at the Trout' on one of my return visits. We got a great deal on a long weekend with an executive double. The room was beautifully decorated, warm without being stuffy, spotlessly clean (something I'm very critical on being ex-forces) and supremely comfortable. Really nice atmosphere about the hotel with warm and friendly staff (something you'll find a lot of in Cockermouth) and the bars and restaurants which are popular and busy but without feeling rowdy or chaotic. Great selection of real beer on tap, from Jennings and others. Be sure to opt for the full Cumbrian' at breakfast......superb! There was a wedding on the weekend we stayed, so we braced ourselves for the loud music and rowdy guests.....not a whisper of either. Testament I think to the type of clientèle using the place and of the staff and management's thoughtfulness. Really sad to have to check out. Oh, be sure to take your Sunday papers to The Bitter End pub for lunch, another gem in this great little town.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockape28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

A really nice Hotel that makes you feel at home. It is quite a change to move away from the 'Brands' now and again where you can feel like a Robot.

I was looked after, with plenty of Staff on hand to help. Beer is extremely costly but there are other Pubs about within a short walk. A short stay but service and environment spot on!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Therobster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Took two friends on Saturday night for a meal in the main restaurant.

Don't you just hate it when you have just poured the wine yourselves, and the waiter comes straight over and tops up the glasses and empties the bottle and says shall I get you another one - all within a few minutes of sitting down! As we had looked after ourselves, and he watched us do it; I see this as pushy and cynical up selling.

If the staff were to smile more, and actually looked like they wanted you to have a good time it would help. Probably OK for afternoon tea or lunch, but won't bother with dinner again. The bill was £170 - which is a lot for an average night out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

There for a work function, my two colleagues and I travelled on a damp day; the main road through Cockermouth was being dug up for renovations. Being re-routed with Sat Nav advising to “turn around when possible” was not the best start to our stay. Arriving at the hotel the road side exterior looked somewhat unappealing with the watering system for the hanging floral displays visible and no flowers in sight.
All was to change the moment we entered the hotel. The welcome was warm friendly and efficient. We were shown to our rooms with the hotel’s facilities and eating times explained en-route. My room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and The White Company products in the bathroom a welcome change from the unbranded alternatives. Obviously very recently decorated in muted modern tones with a good TV selection, plus tea / coffee and biscuits, the room was a haven of peace overlooking the river. The bed was very comfortable too.
We had open sandwiches for a snack, and trio of sausages and trio of prawns as small supper after work. Breakfast was great with superb poached eggs.
Upon leaving, I noted the number of “Thank You” cards lining the window sill – testament to the team who make this hotel a real gem. Next time I will bring my wife and savour the hotel in a less stressed non- work environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and fabulous food. My husband and I stayed for one night. We ate at the Derwent restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. We both had the fajitas which were very fulfilling. Infact too much! We shared a platter for starters and that was ample. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was quite greasy but again enjoyable.I'd definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleMandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a great three day stay (friday to monday). The Junior suite was excellent. The food was excellent. The staff could not do enough for us but the bars were to full of dinners and i mean all the bars. This meant there was no place to have a drink after diner for hotel guests hence drop to four star overall. For a base to explore the lake district it was good though the usual British weather was not great. We would recommend this hotel to anybody who likes good food and the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
5.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
8.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing