We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, peaceful stay”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, peaceful stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for a wedding nearby. Nice old world feel.Very nice package deal. Room was fine, food good, Lovely to sit outside with a beer in a lovely garden chilling out along the river, Short walk to town.Ample free car parking, I would return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnniepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    140
    42
    19
    11
See reviews for
134
309
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have used the Trout for many occasions and have always felt it wonderful. I had recently an opportunity to stay at the Trout through work for one evening. I only booked into a single room which was right in the eaves of the hotel. As you can imagine the room wasnt massive but then again the size of the room was reflected in the price which was very reasonable, especially as it was a summer weekend and I only needed the one night.

The room had a very large bathroom with a fantastic shower.

The food in the hotel was fantastic. I met a group of friends for some Tapas style food and drinks prior to leaving for the evening. The quality of the food is exceptional for the price.

Breakfast the following morning was equally good. The grilled Kipper was amazing and the chef tailored my breakfast requirements perfectly.

Plenty of room for car parking as well

The hotel had free wifi throughout.

Room Tip: If its the middle of summer and your room is too hot ( there is no air conditioning ) ask reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Historic hotel with large comfortable rooms. The back lawn along the River Derwent is my favorite spot to relax. Great English Fry Up in the morning. The Sticky Toffee Pudding is great. Nice bar with strong drinks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wdcraven78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was in Cockermouth for 3 nights for Woolfest and chose the Trout because we wanted somewhere that would be nice to stay in, even if it rained (it did!) The hotel exceeded all our expectations: the room we had was spacious and clean and the bathroom too was very big with a nice deep bath as well as a shower. The food at breakfast and in the bistro was tasty and filling with a good choice for vegetarians like me and the staff were all efficient, friendly and very eager to please. We had a wonderful, if all too short break and are already planning a return visit next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple glaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room was well furnished, a great big telly and a comfy bed. The bathroom was very smart, although the shower was a bit small it was powerful. As noted in my room recommendations the particular room we had was hot in not warm weather and ventilation an issue.

We ate in the Bistro and had very good quality and value food, i'd thoroughly recommend. We just about managed three courses which is apparently rare. The bistro staff were friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast was good and checkout smooth. My wife left her electric toothbrush behind and that was promptly posted on after she'd rung to find out if it had been found.

Room Tip: Room 212 was too hot when the weather was on the cool side for June. The problem is the large window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A wonderful stay in a wonderful hotel. We can't wait to go back. Service was brilliant, staff wonderful and obviously happy in their jobs. Little personal touches that go a long way. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to all and sundry.

Room Tip: We had room 220. Big, and brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Considering there was a wedding on and we were not part of it, the hotel managed to cope admirably. A very comfy hotel, usual West Cumbrian charm. Room exceptionally clean and spacioius. Bathroom amazing. Food was good, breakfast very good. All in all, a very comfortable hotel and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterKlondyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
248 reviews
5.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing