We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockermouths jewel in the crown”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've been to the Trout on several occasions, last for a Saturday lunch, and each occasion has been a pleasant experience. The lounge bar is a comfortable place to relax and spend a few hours, with a wide range of wines and spirits along with a good menu. The food has been excellent on every visit and I have no doubt that ill be returning there before long. Afternoon tea is a treat and reasonably priced. The Trout is certainly not the cheapest place in town, however it is probably the best, and I like to know that I'm getting value for money. I always feel that here !

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rthom5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 703 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

we went here on sunday the 20th jan 2013 for a meal , there was 9 of us . we went into the bar/lounge the waiter service was good and the seating was comfortable.we did not have starters just main meals and deserts .the mains were large portions and of good quality so were the deserts.we will be returning soon as we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blindmannorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and i spent a night in the Trout in January and really enjoyed the good old fashioned service. Waited on and breakfast served at the table was a pleasant change from buffet style usually offered at newer type hotels.
The hotel itself was extensively refurbished after the floods but still keeps its old fashioned style. We had an executive room which was only a tenner extra and, although i didnt see the ordinary rooms, was probably worth the extra as it was a good size and a nice big bathroom with a great shower and a seperate bath..
We ate dinner and tea at the hotel and could not fault any meal. The service was excellent and the staff very freindly.
Overall a nice and enjoyable birthday treat.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room for a tenner extra. Book early for a table in the restaraunt as its usuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here for dinner on a busy Saturday night. Nice atmosphere - pleasantly busy but not overpowering. Service light hearted and attentive. Starters were good - large portions and very tasty... but the mains were all disappointing. Big portions again but just not as nice as they should have been. I would have been pushed to tell you mine was venison if I hadn't known when ordering it. The pies are huge and look appetising. Unfortunately they were rather tasteless, a bit like school dinners. Prices average but was expecting more from the food.

Can't find a restaurant section for this so posting in the hotel bit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BadSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

One of the few decent hotels in West Cumbria. Excellent rooms, decently furnished, up to date with high quality bathrooms, friendly staff, a really good restaurant. Downsides are limited parking (and no parking anywhere near) and a rather crowded bar/restaurant area. No wireless in bedrooms. Really good value on a dbb basis.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toomanybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ate here as we got vouchers for a wedding present. The bar and dining room were lovely and the service and food were very good. The Sunday lunch menu was reasonable value and there was a good choice - wit something other than a roast if you wanted it. Wine list was good too and they did a cracking G n T.

Room Tip: We didn't stay just ate. Knowing the area I'd say a room on the back overlooking the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBLou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely hotel. I was lucky to be part of a large party of friends and we also took advantage of their private dining room in the evening. Jolly good food and the first time I can remember being defeated by a Cheese Board! There was so much! Room was very clean and comfortable and despite being on the road side of the hotel there was no noise. Obviosuly they had the big flood back in 2009 but they have recovered really well and did a great job. I will use it again when I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
24.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
554 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: $155 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing