We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
north west
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

we went here on sunday the 20th jan 2013 for a meal , there was 9 of us . we went into the bar/lounge the waiter service was good and the seating was comfortable.we did not have starters just main meals and deserts .the mains were large portions and of good quality so were the deserts.we will be returning soon as we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindmannorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    138
    42
    19
    11
See reviews for
131
307
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and i spent a night in the Trout in January and really enjoyed the good old fashioned service. Waited on and breakfast served at the table was a pleasant change from buffet style usually offered at newer type hotels.
The hotel itself was extensively refurbished after the floods but still keeps its old fashioned style. We had an executive room which was only a tenner extra and, although i didnt see the ordinary rooms, was probably worth the extra as it was a good size and a nice big bathroom with a great shower and a seperate bath..
We ate dinner and tea at the hotel and could not fault any meal. The service was excellent and the staff very freindly.
Overall a nice and enjoyable birthday treat.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room for a tenner extra. Book early for a table in the restaraunt as its usuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here for dinner on a busy Saturday night. Nice atmosphere - pleasantly busy but not overpowering. Service light hearted and attentive. Starters were good - large portions and very tasty... but the mains were all disappointing. Big portions again but just not as nice as they should have been. I would have been pushed to tell you mine was venison if I hadn't known when ordering it. The pies are huge and look appetising. Unfortunately they were rather tasteless, a bit like school dinners. Prices average but was expecting more from the food.

Can't find a restaurant section for this so posting in the hotel bit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

One of the few decent hotels in West Cumbria. Excellent rooms, decently furnished, up to date with high quality bathrooms, friendly staff, a really good restaurant. Downsides are limited parking (and no parking anywhere near) and a rather crowded bar/restaurant area. No wireless in bedrooms. Really good value on a dbb basis.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toomanybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ate here as we got vouchers for a wedding present. The bar and dining room were lovely and the service and food were very good. The Sunday lunch menu was reasonable value and there was a good choice - wit something other than a roast if you wanted it. Wine list was good too and they did a cracking G n T.

Room Tip: We didn't stay just ate. Knowing the area I'd say a room on the back overlooking the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouBLou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely hotel. I was lucky to be part of a large party of friends and we also took advantage of their private dining room in the evening. Jolly good food and the first time I can remember being defeated by a Cheese Board! There was so much! Room was very clean and comfortable and despite being on the road side of the hotel there was no noise. Obviosuly they had the big flood back in 2009 but they have recovered really well and did a great job. I will use it again when I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Apart from the gorgeous decor and fabulous food The Trout also has wonderful staff.Despite a 'full house' this weekend the serivce remains spot on.
This year we had a double room up in the attic....not as large as the river view from the year before but absolutely delightful.

Room Tip: Ground floors - might have river views but not entirely picturesque so don't discount the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfoster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing