We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here recently on business, the hotel was booked by the company I was visiting so wasn't sure what to expect. Well shouldn't have been worried at all the hotel is beautiful a great location right by the river, although you can hear the traffic from the road out the front if you have a room here not that it bothered me at all. The room I stayed in was a executive double and was really well presented. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. The food in the derwent restaurant was excellent.
I was so impressed that I have booked for a return visit in September for my wedding anniversary

Room Tip: double executive with a room over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simoney62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 707 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a hotel that one would expect when staying in a very quaint an "English" town where one can walk to many restaurants and Pubs in and around the hotel. The rooms were quie large, comfortable and were relaxing (room 204 overlooks the river that runs behind the hotel) and nicely furnished.

The staff is extremely accomodating and the daily breakfast offered (cold buffet and made-to-order) is a great start for the day. Order the English Breakfast and you will not need lunch. Did not eat in the restaurant during the day, or evening but many seemed to do so -- a good point here is the hotel will open tha bar at anytime during the late evening/early morning to provide you a drink if so desired. What I call hospitality. The front desk staff meets all your requests with a smile and a prompt delivery.

There are no gym/workout facilities on the property as this is more of a botique hotel -- so running or walking is your only alternative.

I would definitely stay here again on future travels.

Tip: There is a grocery store via a 5-minute walk to stock-up on any snacks or soda one may require. Also try the local Indian Restaurant as the food was absolutely fantastic -- cannot remember the name but on right side of the road as you walk into town. And again, a 5-minute walk if that.

Room Tip: Ask for roooms that overlook the river -- with the windows open a very nie relaxing sound in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Although we had dined in the Trout before this was the first time we had stayed over, our daughter & son in law had booked us in as a thank you present, we could not have been more pleased. nothing from reception, the room or the dining was a let down. we really enjoyed our stay and will return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marrinerduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We tayed at the Trout in Cockermouth in May and left very underwhelmed by the experience. I've attached some photos but the main issue was that the room was very noisy - constant deep humming noise -presumably from some plant/vent system and noise until 1am from the bar below. Room decor was OK and the bathroom was clean but dated as per the photos attached. View from the room was of a wall and some plumbing features. Breakfast arrived on time with a pastry in a bag - certainly unusual presentation - maybe it is how it is microwaved? Given the other reviews maybe we were unlucky, but if you want a view or a good nights sleep be very careful about which room you get!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were a party of seven (including a small baby) and spent three nights at the Trout whilst at a local wedding. A fantastic hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was fabulous.It is not the cheapest of hotels but well worth the extra cost. We had dinner at the hotel twicw and the meals were as good as any top London hotel but the portions were much larger!! Breakfasts were BIG and tasty!! The staff were brilliant - friendly,efficient and nothing was too much trouble. All in all one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in for quite some time and with food to die for!!

Room Tip: Avoid the front as traffic is haeavy in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cockneyjohn504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stayed at the trout hotel while at a wedding in the area.the hotel was very good ,very clean and the sevice was excellent.we ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the meal was superb on both occassions.the breakfasts were huge with an amazing choice of food.there was six adults and a baby in our party and we would all stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We often travel o the Western Lakes and stay in hotels and B and Bs. This is the best we have experienced. We had an executive double room and it was lovely. Plenty of space, an extremely comfortable bed and very good facilities, the only problem was there was no shower curtain because of the sloping roof. The rest of the room was first rate and we had a great night's sleep - I wanted to take the bed home with me.
The staff were more than helpful, in the bars, restaurant (for breakfast) and on reception. We talked to Janis and another lady (dark haired, sorry I didn't notice your name) and their customer service skills were fantastic. They helped make our stay really enjoyable. The breakfast options would suit the British palate and the European one. We drank in the bar on the Saturday evening, and even though there was a wedding event one you could not notice, everyone was been treated to first class treatment. There were local and residents there, which tells you something about how the Trout is viewed locally. A reputation well-deserved.
On piece of advice - bring gym kit or a swimming costume if you like exercise. The hotel has a link with the local leisure centre and you get to use it for free. I hadn't checked the website properly so didn't realise. Next time we will go prepared, because there will be a next time. We have found our "haven" in the Western Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havenrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
8.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
24.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: $157 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing