We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break hotel”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great weekend break hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just arrived home after a weekend break at the Trout. First visited this hotel around 30 years ago, has gone through much refurbishment over recent years, certainly since the floods.
We now have up market hotel, with many new facilities, decor, rooms etc. A pleasure to stay in and top quality service to match the upgrades.
We had a ground floor room, which was necessary due to my wife's problem with stairs etc.It was a junior suite, with large windows that over looked the river. It was top quality in every respect, and I would say as nice a room as we have ever stayed in.
The breakfast was excellent, good quality food, well presented, and promptly served. The selection was very varied, much better than most I have visited.
We did eat in the Bistro on the first night, due to very inclement weather. The food was good quality, and large portions. The environment was not ideal, given it was very busy and quite compact, but that is only a minor issue overall.
A busy, well located hotel, of top quality, certainly worth its four star rating in my opinion. We will certainly be returning, and it will not take another thirty years this time.

Room Tip: Many ground floor rooms to pick from, the junior suite we had was excellent, worth the extra price r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-ChrisMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    138
    42
    19
    11
See reviews for
131
307
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcs
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here over the jubilee weekend as a stopover en route to Scotland.

Check in was easy and the lady on reception showed us to our room and made sure we were happy.

We had an executive river view room and it was huge, very clean with large bathroom with toiletries provided.

After wandering around Cockermouth for a while we headed for the bar to unwind, again, service was great and we ordered a couple of snacks from the bistro menu which were delicious and clearly made on site and not out of the freezer!

For dinner, we decided to eat in the Terrace bistro, again, service was fantastic and the food was very good. For hotel prices, I thought it was reasonable.

The hotel was clearly busy and this was noticed at breakfast. We had been asked to choose which sitting we wanted when we checked in which is a good idea and prevents everyone trying to get breakfast at the same time.

Breakfast was disappointing for me, the tables were too close together and many orders came out of the kitchen and were wrong although I suspect this was because they only had one person to take orders and he was also seating guests. The quality of the food was good when it arrived.

I would definitely return to this hotel, great for a relaxing break.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank keentravellerworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed two nights with friends and enjoyed a meal in the Bistro- I had fantastic confit of Pork shoulder! Only two small criticisms - very little clothes storage space in the bedroom ( virtually no drawers) and having to to contact bar staff ot get our room key when we had been to the theatre in Keswick and returned after 11 pm

Room Tip: I think a river view would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have visited before and after the dreadful 2009 flooding that closed the hotel for several months. Since the refurbishment the hotel has bounced back to even better hospitality. We liked the hotel before; now we find the Bistro (one out of several ground floor eating areas) has all that we could wish by way of selection, both food and drink. The quality of cooking is superb, and we could find no fault. The service was prompt and very friendly. We also noticed relatively unobtrusive but quietly hands on Management supervision. Well done! and congratulations to the owners for such a warm and welcoming establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennett003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Lovely hotel, close to town centre with parking. Service was very friendly and effecient. Breakfast was great, good choice and tasty. Food in bistro was ok but nothing spectacular. Room was huge, comfortable, nice decor but the ensuite let it down badly. No shower, fan and towel rail didn't work and decor looking a bit sad. They did say at reception when I pointed this out that it was due to be refurbished!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the river, need to request one at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We spent four nights at the Trout Hotel while visiting the Lake District. The hotel offers a great location, helpful staff, and nice amenities. Our room had a nice river view. For food or drink you can be in the pub, lounge, terrance, side garden, or formal dining. This is a relatively large hotel that gets lots of visitors from tourists like us to local weddings. Literally every staff member was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Cockermouth (despite having a name that rings odd due to American slang) is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District and the nearby Irish Sea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_keep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed in a riverside room and everything was perfect throughout the hotel, wonderful refurbishment after those terrible floods and we had every modern facility. The food was excellent and the service friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGuinnesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing