We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice venue for a wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hundith Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hundith Hill Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Burnley
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A nice venue for a wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We attended a wedding at the Hundith Hill hotel on Saturday night and it was great.
The service an food were good. The evening went very well..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimhepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    49
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
53
59
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyreso, Sweden
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I've taken various walking groups to the Lakes since 2007. We've never stayed here, but we do generally eat at the Hundith Hill at least once. The atmosphere is laid-back, not too smart for walkers with limited baggage space for dinner jackets etc! - and the food usually scores 8/10. The staff are attentive, the owner friendly and goes to pains to fit us in even if we book the same afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J1Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in April 2012. The room was excellent, spacious, well maintained, furnished and spotlessly clean. The food was excellent with a plenty of choice and always more than enough. The service was excellent with all the staff being helpful and friendly, we came away feeling that they were pleased to be able to help us.
I am happy to recommend this hotel without any reservations, it is one of the best hotels I have experienced in terms of good service and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate my husbands birthday and it was a real pleasure. We had the Superior suite with the balcony and great views. Very comfortable bed. We are both vegetarians and the restaurant provided us with a good selection of starters and main courses to choose from each evening. The food was excellent (best mashed potato ever), to a very high standard and the staff were helpful and courteous.
We would visit again and have no hesitation recommending the hotel. Value for money with a feeling of luxury too.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are probably the quietest especially when the restaurant/function room is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shollysmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We took my wife's mother for lunch yesterday and dined in the function room as did over a hundred others. We were all delighted with the meal, in fact it was as good a lunch as I have ever eaten anywhere. When Phil produced a small plate with several small home made biscuits on it with our coffee we really were too full to eat them. After a few sips of coffee I did manage to force one coconut haystack that had been dipped in chocolate down, and it was superb. We couldn't manage any more. The whole meal was a delight from start to finish. Three courses, plus coffee and biscuits, plus 3 drinks before hand for less than £60 for the 3 of us was excellent value for money. Plenty of staff on duty ensured the service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeatonIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

A nice homely hotel that could ,with a little effort ,be much better.Our room was fine with a lovely view.However it was noisy, as the noise from the entrance hall carried up the stairs and,perhaps it was our bad luck, there was a large and loud party in that evening.Little touches like full use of the fireplace would have added to the experience.The staff are very friendly and the food wholesome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarmacWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My friend and I have stayed many times at the Hundith Hotel. We actually get withdrawal symptoms if we do not go there regularly! We have always found the staff friendly and helpful. Owner Phil always has a story to tell and a comment to make. Meals in either the dining room or bar are excellent -nothing is too much trouble and we like meeting all the locals who also eat there -a good sign ! .Rooms are clean,comfortable and well decorated . Views from the Hotel are outstanding .

Room Tip: Outside room are of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
5.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundith Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundith Hill Hotel

Property: Hundith Hill Hotel
Address: Hillway Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#6 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundith Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With sumptuous furnishings and wonderful views across the Lorton Valley, Hundith Hill Hotel sits on the outskirts of Cockermouth. A short drive from Keswick, the traditional rooms offer luxury en suite bathrooms.The Hundith Hill Hotel is set in a grand country house, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a large pleasant garden. With views of the Cumbrian Fells, the hotel has free private parking for guests. Free Wi-Fi is also accessible in public areas.The elegant rooms are individually decorated with floral and satin fabrics, and some feature exposed beams and scenic views. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer, and a wake-up service is also available.The popular Hundith Hill Restaurant serves a varied menu with European influences, and the informal bar menu offers classic pub food and light lunches. Traditional cooked breakfasts and packed lunches are also available daily.On the edge of the Lake District, Hundith Hill is just 20 minutes’ drive from the Solway Coast. The famous lakes are within easy reach, and a number of walking routes are close by. Crummock Water can be reached in 10 minutes, and Derwent Water is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hundith Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hundith Hill Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing