We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Trout Hotel(Cockermouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor House Hotel(Cockermouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Globe Hotel(Cockermouth)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melbreak Country House Hotel(Workington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hundith Hill Hotel(Cockermouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
137
107
34
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
107
34
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverymanager danlovely hotelcountry house hotelgrounds are lovelysteak pieevening mealoverlooking the gardenopen firehome cooked foodfour poster beddinner menustayed here for two nightssense of humourhomemade chipspublic areasfamily run
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 296 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night. We found all the staff very helpful and they all seemed interested in helping you. The bedroom was everything that could be expected. Breakfast was average to good, could have been better but no real complaints and finally the decor is a little behind the times. Although it does look as though the owners are making efforts towards rectifying this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel OK for money we paid. Family run hotel and staff very nice. Only had a small room which was in the annex and a dormer and unbearably hot and only a skylight you could open . Bathroom very tiny too. No fans available. My other gripe was the bed was too hard but I always carry a thick keep fit mat around when we go away to put under the sheet which does the trick. Peacocks in the grounds make sure you're awake early. Hotel is in a nice setting with nice gardens. Breakfast Ok the usual fayre. Cannot comment on the evening meal as we didn't eat at night in the hotel. Bingo every night if you like that sort of thing
Went on a Groupon Deal so OK for the money we paid but wouldn't like to have paid full price

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on in the extension part
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southernpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is our third visit in 15 months to this fantastic hotel and we cannot fault it. The hotel is just lovely and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Gold star to Lisa and Janet for their warmth and hospitality we felt really at home in this lovely hotel and we will be back again. The food was delicious and piping hot and beautifully presented. A good choice of food on the daily menu and a carvery served on Thursday and Sunday. We generally do not eat carveries but could not help but be impressed by the quality of the food served.
The hotel grounds are amazing and it was lovely sitting outside in the sunshine chatting and watching the peacocks with their babies ( just six weeks old).
We have been to many hotels but have never bothered to write a review until now!

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are at the front off the hotel with a lovely view of the grounds and river in the background.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The estate was immaculate, with peacocks ramblung through the garden and cows almost oitside the window. The food was wonderful and served by friendly and welcoming staff. The room was very clean and comfy and relaxed. A short drive to shops and a wonderful spot to get away from the hussle and bussle of big towns.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megsy0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a comfortable relaxing weekend break. It was outside our usual area but quieter than the central Lakes would have been in July and a lovely area. Cockermouth is a very nice town with interesting shops (far removed from the usual high street chains) and good cafes. The hotel is homely and comfy with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere although needs to be careful not to become too relaxed. The food was good and excellent value. Had we known this in advance would have eaten in each night however can't recommend the coffee! Our dog friendly room was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for the shower. Bathroom perhaps a little tired but fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even the gardner took an interest and made helpful suggestions for the day ahead. I would definitely return and recommend it to friends if only the mattress did not have a horrible waterproof cover which gave me a poor nights sleep. Lovely garden and peacocks. With a little attention to detail it could be fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anon551746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews