We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Traditional Country Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at this excellent Country House Hotel near Cockermouth. The house is located in a beautiful setting, with country views from the lounges and some bedrooms, yet close to the A66 which is convenient for cockermouth 5 mins and Keswick 20 mins. The grounds are well kept and scenic. The Hotel has all the facilities expected of a Country House, dont expect ultra modern bathrooms instead traditional ensuite with bath and overhead shower and very clean. We had family room no. 15 which was large with high ceilings, floor to ceiling drapes, TV, good sized radiator and a window that opens.

The food is again traditional and cooked/presented very well, portions are large! and excellent value for money.

Finally the staff are excellent, every member of staff we encountered was very personable and always willing to help with any requests.

On the whole we greatly enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 15 was a good sized family room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Broughton Craggs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had 2 nights at Broughton Craggs - really great! Lovely building - a bit old-fashioned but very comfortable. We reckon we had the best room overlooking the grounds and down the valley to the river. Staff very helpful, particularly in advice re what to visit / see locally. Food good too - just watch out for the VERY hot plates at breakfast.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

After much searching of Hotels in the Cockermouth area.my partner and I chose the Craggs at Great Broughton. as our base for a short break to visit family living near by. From the moment of our arrival to our reluctant departure we were truly impressed with the warmth of welcome and attention to detail.Our evening meal was from the hotels carvery selection. Beef that was deliciously melt in the mouth . Veg cooked to perfection. A wide choice on show and wonderful desserts that really tempted the palate.Our room no 9 was spacious and warm . Spotless and well equiped. The following morning breakfast was equal to anything a larger hotel could provide and again lots of choice and all freshly cooked . The bar was well stocked and the service couldn't have been better.I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Roaring fire in the evenings was a big plus even though it wasn't too chilly outside. We both agreed it was excellent value and well worth a return next time we are in the area. Well done to all staff for making a short break more comfortable and a happy experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just had two nights at Broughton Craggs - on a Groupon deal. The staff are great - very pleasant, welcoming and professional. Our room - room 9, was a decent size - with plenty of good drawer and wardrobe space. Marked grotty carpet.
There was a welcoming open fire burning as we arrived, and this was a lovely point. The grounds are lovely too. I was not bothered over much by the 'tired' aspects of the hotel, although it definitely is tired - but my real beef is with cleanliness. Our room needed a damn good dusting - and the carpet could have done with shampooing too. We had a stunning wooden bed, with matching huge chest of drawers and a huge matching mirror - but none of them had been dusted for some while. All had visible deposits of dust on them. The woodwork, being ornate, is naturally a dust trap - and dust is 90% human skin and I do not want to sleep in a bed that has previous guests' skin parked on it. The bed linen was immaculate and the bed supremely comfortable - so it was a relatively small point that let this room down. The whole hotel was lovely and warm. My only other negative is the mould around window frames - particularly in the bathroom - there was no ventilation in there, the windows are old and not double-glazed, so steam and condensation causes mould and mildew on the frames - this needs to be dealt with regularly, as it builds up and looks awful. A heated towel rail would also have been very useful, as we had to put our damp towels on the radiator in the bedroom - adding to the condensation on the windows. Plenty of hot water and both a bath and a decent shower to choose from. Breakfasts were great - good quality and plenty of it -full English on Saturday morning; smoked haddock and poached eggs on Sunday morning - set us up for some serious walking. Broughton Craggs normally charges £129.95 for a double room with breakfast - but we felt this was way overpriced, bearing in mind the points I have made. It is currently at the standard of a £75 per room with breakfast - needs to attend to the details before we would pay the asking rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Carvery on a Sunday is fantastic!
Never had a bad meal -always plenty of choice and a good portion.
Great homemade food!
Yorkshires are home made!
Staff are very friendly and very helpful.
Peacocks and play area for children are nice extra touches.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 3 days here and loved every aspect of the hotel. The lounge and bar very cosy and welcoming. Food very good. Peacocks in the grounds lovely touch.local area very stunning , with great drives. Keswick well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freemak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel with my sister and my little dog. The hotel is beautiful and very rustic. Yes it could do with a lick of paint etc but if you can overlook the minor details you'll see that it's spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable and most importantly the rooms were very warm and cosy. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and my little dog was allowed in no problem. The gardens are great with peacocks roaming around and a nice woodland walk around the garden and grounds. Parking is plentiful and when we arrived we had the cream tea on offer and the scones were fresh and warm and very delicious indeed. It was served in the cosy lounge overlooking the wonderful garden and views beyond. Breakfast was more than adequate. Cereals, fruit and a cooked breakfast. The poached eggs are delicious with haddock and toast. I have to be honest and say that the coffee machine isn't great - the coffee is very bitter. Table serice of some tea or a caffetiere of fresh coffee would be so much nicer. All in all a hearty breakfast though. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but went into Cockermouth and ate at the Quince and Meddlar - a fabulous vegetarian restaurant that I recommend and the previous night we ate at an Italian restaurant called Portofino also in Cockermouth. Back to the hotel - overall there is a lovely relaxed feeling and that made the trip special. I would recommend the hotel to others at the reduced rate I paid for it and would even stay there again. It's in such a lovely location and so quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: No 7 was right at the top of the stairs and easy access to take the dog out for her little 'comf...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happysunshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
261 reviews
5.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
478 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
296 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Craggs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Craggs Hotel

Address: Craggs Road | Great Broughton, Cockermouth CA13 0XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#5 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Broughton Craggs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Broughton Craggs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton Craggs Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing