We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be excellent with a little more attention to detail”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cockermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Argenton-les-Vallees, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good, but could be excellent with a little more attention to detail”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just had two nights at Broughton Craggs - on a Groupon deal. The staff are great - very pleasant, welcoming and professional. Our room - room 9, was a decent size - with plenty of good drawer and wardrobe space. Marked grotty carpet.
There was a welcoming open fire burning as we arrived, and this was a lovely point. The grounds are lovely too. I was not bothered over much by the 'tired' aspects of the hotel, although it definitely is tired - but my real beef is with cleanliness. Our room needed a damn good dusting - and the carpet could have done with shampooing too. We had a stunning wooden bed, with matching huge chest of drawers and a huge matching mirror - but none of them had been dusted for some while. All had visible deposits of dust on them. The woodwork, being ornate, is naturally a dust trap - and dust is 90% human skin and I do not want to sleep in a bed that has previous guests' skin parked on it. The bed linen was immaculate and the bed supremely comfortable - so it was a relatively small point that let this room down. The whole hotel was lovely and warm. My only other negative is the mould around window frames - particularly in the bathroom - there was no ventilation in there, the windows are old and not double-glazed, so steam and condensation causes mould and mildew on the frames - this needs to be dealt with regularly, as it builds up and looks awful. A heated towel rail would also have been very useful, as we had to put our damp towels on the radiator in the bedroom - adding to the condensation on the windows. Plenty of hot water and both a bath and a decent shower to choose from. Breakfasts were great - good quality and plenty of it -full English on Saturday morning; smoked haddock and poached eggs on Sunday morning - set us up for some serious walking. Broughton Craggs normally charges £129.95 for a double room with breakfast - but we felt this was way overpriced, bearing in mind the points I have made. It is currently at the standard of a £75 per room with breakfast - needs to attend to the details before we would pay the asking rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    100
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
165
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Carvery on a Sunday is fantastic!
Never had a bad meal -always plenty of choice and a good portion.
Great homemade food!
Yorkshires are home made!
Staff are very friendly and very helpful.
Peacocks and play area for children are nice extra touches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 3 days here and loved every aspect of the hotel. The lounge and bar very cosy and welcoming. Food very good. Peacocks in the grounds lovely touch.local area very stunning , with great drives. Keswick well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel with my sister and my little dog. The hotel is beautiful and very rustic. Yes it could do with a lick of paint etc but if you can overlook the minor details you'll see that it's spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable and most importantly the rooms were very warm and cosy. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and my little dog was allowed in no problem. The gardens are great with peacocks roaming around and a nice woodland walk around the garden and grounds. Parking is plentiful and when we arrived we had the cream tea on offer and the scones were fresh and warm and very delicious indeed. It was served in the cosy lounge overlooking the wonderful garden and views beyond. Breakfast was more than adequate. Cereals, fruit and a cooked breakfast. The poached eggs are delicious with haddock and toast. I have to be honest and say that the coffee machine isn't great - the coffee is very bitter. Table serice of some tea or a caffetiere of fresh coffee would be so much nicer. All in all a hearty breakfast though. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but went into Cockermouth and ate at the Quince and Meddlar - a fabulous vegetarian restaurant that I recommend and the previous night we ate at an Italian restaurant called Portofino also in Cockermouth. Back to the hotel - overall there is a lovely relaxed feeling and that made the trip special. I would recommend the hotel to others at the reduced rate I paid for it and would even stay there again. It's in such a lovely location and so quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: No 7 was right at the top of the stairs and easy access to take the dog out for her little 'comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happysunshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ideal situation for Cockermouth Keswick and lakedistrict.The hotel is looking a little tired but the staff were all very friendly,The breakfast was excellent, and we enjoyed our cream tea.The Sunday carvery must be very good by the number of people that were waiting to go into the dining room.We had already arranged to eat out that night or we would have tried it.Our room was a good size and although the bathroom needed a refurbish there was plenty of hot water and clean soft towels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My Partner and I went to Broughton Craggs Hotel on Friday 12th October until Sunday 14th October. We arrived at the hotel late and the person at reception was really friendly and took our bags to our room. The room itself was quite small & bathroom was quite old fashioned but very cosy and warm (especially as this was about 9 o'clock at night - we were glad to be finally getting there). You could hear noise from the room next door really easy, but had no problem sleeping, bed really comfy. We arrived for breakfast the next morning and was lovely with lots of choice. We had a cream tea in the afternoon with the scones made whilst we waited and these were really tasty and warm, the only downside was it wasn't clotted cream it was cream from a tin, we sat in the lounge having our cream tea whilst looking into the stunning grounds of the hotel. The hotel seems to be ongoing some work to update it which i think is a good idea. We visited Kesswick during the Saturday afternoon and there was a bustling market going which had really good atmosphere, the town itself is lovely and we enjoyed our day. We had breakfast on the Sunday which was just as nice as the Saturday. The hotel is quite small which added to the lovely atmosphere. If you are wanting a relaxing weekend away this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Was looking forward to this weekend break, don't get away much. Breakfast was adequate but the cream tea we had, arrived with spray tin cream! Not very nice considering that the scones were homemade. The room we stayed in was relatively clean but the bathroom was like something out of the 60's! Whoever tiled the floor obviously didn't know how to cut tiles as there was a 3" piece of old carpet to fill the gap around the toilet. There were broken wall tiles, no working fan (important when you do not have a window in the bathroom) bits missing off of the shower (which went hot & cold all the time). Very disappointed! And to top it all off, the room was very very noisy.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.2 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
10.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Craggs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Craggs Hotel

Property: Broughton Craggs Hotel
Address: Craggs Road | Great Broughton, Cockermouth CA13 0XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#5 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broughton Craggs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Broughton Craggs Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing