We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hundith Hill Hotel(Cockermouth)
$127
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trout Hotel(Cockermouth)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor House Hotel(Cockermouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
137
107
34
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
107
34
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverymanager danlovely hotelcountry house hotelgrounds are lovelysteak pieevening mealoverlooking the gardenopen firehome cooked foodfour poster beddinner menustayed here for two nightssense of humourhomemade chipspublic areasfamily run
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 296 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have just returned from a visit to this hotel, we booked it through Groupon for £129 per couple for 2 nights including a cream tea. We had a lovely time the hotel is set in a stunning location,, quiet but a good base for touring the Lakes. It has stunning views across the gardens, I would recommend sitting on the swinging chair, looking out onto the valley, a real treat. Yes the hotel could do with a little up-dating, it would greatly benefit from a new carpet in the hall and the staircase, but for the price we paid it was clean, the staff were friendly, the breakfast wonderful, hot and lots of it so we thought we'd got excellent value for money. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

we stayed there recently as part of a special offer and frankly we were both blown away by the quality of the place and especially the food.

the hotel is close enough to cockermouth (2 miles) and Maryport (abou 2 miles also) without being in a busy area, which adds to the peace around the place imo.

the food is simpl stunning, no pub food syle frozen food here it seems.

honestly i cant wait for another opportunity to stay there, i dont often say that about hotels.

dont follow sat nav instrucions at the destination tho, you will end up driving round some very quiet local roads, the hotel is the next left after the instructions advise you to turn left.

Room Tip: we only saw one bedroom and were happ with that, not sure there are any bad rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Got 2 nights B&B through Groupon for £149. Hotel is a lovely old house with lovely views over valley. Reception rooms are nice, but dated, with good value simple evening meals available. Bedroom - 15- was good sized if again a little dated, but toilet very tired and in urgent need of upgrading.Paint peeling off walls, grouting faded, old linoleum on floor, shower tubing coils broken and gaping. All clean though. This is a hotel run for pure profit. The towels were threadbare and obviously several seasons old. Mattress lumpy and requires replacing.
Staff friendly, although breakfast a little chaotic with waitress reguarly forgetting who had ordered what - a bit like a comedy sketch with customers keeping her right.Breakfast a little strange in that tea and coffee served from vending machine. No choice of bread for toast, but cooked breakfast was satisfactory.
Enjoyed our stay- but would have complained if we had paid the fuill rate of £287 as it was not worth this.
Frustrating as this could be a much better hotel if some money was spent on it to upgrade. Wedding was held there day we left and so the local communitydo use this hotel - and I think they deserve better facilities than are currently in place.

Room Tip: View over roofs but Peacocks visited in early hours looking for food- which I enjoyed but woudl not be everyones taste.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gozo877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of Broughton Craggs Hotel, I'm sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

We are a small family run business, who like many are finding the current economic climate a challenge. However, our upmost priority is to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

All of our bathrooms are currently in the process of being re-furbished including those in reception and our function suite.

We are constantly making improvements to the hotel and customer feedback is very important for this.

I hope that you will visit us again in the future to see that we do take note of & action as soon as feasibly possible all constructive critisism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay through Groupon at the hotel. From first stepping through the door the staff were first class. The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained and views are superb. Food is of a very good standard and excellent value. The hotel's full English breakfast was excellent. The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The hotel could do with a lick of paint but is kept very clean. We will definitely re-visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigkaren23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The staff were all friendly and helpfull and very accomodating, allowing us to lock up our bikes in an office.
Breakfast was piping hot and very tasty. Evening meals were delicious and home cooked and at a very reasonable price.
Our room was clean and spacious with a lovely view over the beautiful gardens and fields beyond.
We would definitely stay at Broughton Craggs again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryBerry82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.
The 'Broughton Craggs' Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews