We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broughton Craggs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 18/19th July due to other half playing golf nearby.We had a great time the hotel grounds are lovely with peacocks wandering around.The room we had was large with a comfy bed,the bathroom was nice and clean and had shampoo.We had our evening meals here and can recommend the chowder in fact all the food was good with large portions and fresh,we found that the price was very good and comparable with town prices. The staff were very nice and helpfull I have already told people about this hotel and hopefully our friends will try it out I know that we will return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craggs_Hotel, Owner at Broughton Craggs Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your very kind review lindy007. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. All the best from the Broughton Craggs team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    97
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
160
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincs.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

A recent week-end stay with friends was all that we had been looking forward to. A warm, friendly hotel, with a beautiful outlook and grounds. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The food was good and plentiful , much more than adequate! We were invited to join a private birthday party, which we did and had an excellent time. Many thanks to Jim!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lincimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Broughton Craggs looked so promising: a lovely old building overlooking beautiful grounds. Sadly, neither the interior nor the good were of the same standard.

The hotel, which changed hands a few years ago, relies heavily on weddings for its business, judging by all the photos of smiling newly-weds in the lobby. The decor looks very tired and paint was peeling of both of the doors in our room.

The hotel website boasts that the food offered by the hotel is locally sourced, though it seemed very ordinary to me. The breakfast was certainly big, though most of it appeared to have come out of a packet.

The bar was also very disappointing: glasses of red wine were served from screw-top mini-bottles and there was only one type of (low-grade) port. And to cap it all, the bar closes at 11 p.m. -- even on Saturday nights!

The staff were friendly, but I'm afraid that just not enough, even in this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kero-kaeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

We enjoyed the carvery and had a good overnight stay. The service and the food were excellent, for both the evening meal and the good breakfast. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious, though there was no shampoo provided. It was calm and peaceful and enjoyed stunning views towards the Western fells.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felllwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

The hotel was very quiet due to the snow and recent flooding so we were upgraded to the best rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful, even printing maps to direct us to the few usable bridges in the area. Good selection of breakfasts, ours were delicious.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.2 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
10.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton Craggs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton Craggs Hotel

Property: Broughton Craggs Hotel
Address: Craggs Road | Great Broughton, Cockermouth CA13 0XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#5 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broughton Craggs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Broughton Craggs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton Craggs Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing