We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dufton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Sue and bev could not have been more helpful and welcoming, beautiful house with lovely room and amazing breakfast that requires a long walk to burn off, you can tips on where to walk from bevs extensive collection of books. would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielaresti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sue & Bev were great hosts very friendly made us feel at home. We would definately stay with them again and will recommend them to our friends. Thanks again for sharing your home with us. See you 2014

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanmcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We cannot recommend highly enough. Sue and Bev were perfect hosts. Very warm and welcoming. Excellent facilities, food, location and hosts. So generous. We could live here forever, growing old and eating amazing food - Sue really is an amazing chef, and as Bev has walked all the fells he is an expert when seeking any advice about the area. The world is a better and kinder place because of Sue and Bev.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig9992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a great welcome from Sue a Bev when we arrived. This unique old house has been very well maintained and is in a very quiet location. Spacious rooms and an excellent breakfast with a great choice and as much as you could eat. Our three night stay was not long enough as we were made to feel as if we were part of the family.

Sam & Beryl

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Could not have had a more welcoming experience from start to finish. Sue and Bev were very friendly and really make you feel at home, they couldn't have been more accommodating. It was a lovely Georgian house with a striking stone staircase. The rooms were very well decorated and were well stocked with just about everything you needed which was obviously done with much thought. Sue was a good cook and the breakfast was very comprehensive with home made jams and delicious bacon from the local butcher and locally made sausages. It is very well placed for the Lake District and I would recommend as a pied a terre for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlynwilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A wonderful welcome from Sue & Bev. Great hospitality in a great house, with lovely rooms.
Good guidance given on where to eat locally. Very near the lakes & close to the A66 for easy access.
Breakfast was excellent.
One night was not long enough. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here to anyone.
Hope to be back one day
Pat, T & R

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A wonderful relaxing weekend at Dufton House. A beautiful Georgian house with spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a lovely view of the garden at breakfast. And what a breakfast - fresh fruit, full English & home-made bread. Delicious! Sue & Bev are wonderful hosts, friendly and helpful with lots of ideas of places to visit in the north Lakes. The B&B is situated in the quiet village of High Brigham a couple of miles outside Cockermouth and we were grateful to Bev for giving us a lift into town for an evening meal - what a star! Cockermouth is full of independent shops, plenty of cafes and pubs and the Wordsworth family home (NT) is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufton House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dufton House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 High Brigham | Brigham, Cockermouth CA13 0TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dufton House is a Grade 2 listed Georgian farm house dating back to 1662 situated in a peaceful village just 2 miles from Cockermouth. The house retains many original features including the stone staircase, wood panelling, sash windows and window seats overlooking the secluded walled garden.Our spacious central heated double bedroom with en-suite is tastefully decorated while the second double bedroom has a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dufton House Bed & Breakfast Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing