We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Cumbria!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dufton House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The Best in Cumbria!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Amazing hospitality from Sue and Bev. Great breakfasts and fantastic room (comfy bed!!) in their lovely Cumbrian home. Nothing is too much trouble. Evening meal provided on request - delicious.....
The best in Cumbria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Found Dufton House on the internet, an email and phone call got us booked. Knew from the phone call that it was going to be OK, but it turned out to be a lot better than at.

Arrived relatively late at 20:30 to be warmly greeted with the offer of a hot drink. The room was great, nice size with large traditional furniture, a massive radiator and wooden shutters to keep the warmth in. The room sparkled, not a speck of dust in sight. Lots of nice little touches, a bar of chocolate on the tea tray, a piece of homemade cake, fresh milk in a flask, white fluffy dressing gowns in the wardrobe and even a box of tissues beside the bed.

We needed to get an early start the next morning and an early breakfast was no problem. Breakfast included fresh fruit salad, a selection of fresh berries, juices, yoghurt and cereal. We chose the ‘Full English’ which was a very generous plateful, carefully cooked, with no hint of grease. The hand cut brown toast went down a treat.

Sue and her husband Bev are perfect hosts, they are warm and friendly without being at all pushy. Nothing was too much trouble and we’re really looking forward to a return visit.

Our only regret was that we hadn’t pre-booked for dinner, but we will do next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for one night and had a little boy with us. His lovely little bed made him feel happy and secure. Sue and Bev are lovely hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. They even got toys out to play with. The award winning breakfast was superb, as was the evening meal. Nice selection of teas,cofee and snacks in our very comfortable room.The garden is very pretty and they have a lovely library to browse. Bath robes were a nice touch. A lovely relaxed atmosphere means that we are looking forward to our return visits and its great value. We could not ask for anything more in a b&b.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeC186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Sue and Bev wonderful hosts and what a beautiful home you have. Our room was fantastic and the breakfast was to die for. Would recommend you try this lovely bed and breakfast if you are in Cumbria.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed one night, which is the only down side. All of us were made very welcome, including our 2 doggies! Gorgeous large en-suite room with views over the garden. Ideal location for touring or Coast to Coast, as my husband was doing. You must have your evening meal here too - food to die for! Very comfortable, well docorated and relaxing home from home. No complaints, apart from wish the stay had been longer. Can't wait to go back, and neither can the dogs who had their own special doggy breakfast. Thank you Bev and Sue!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Sue and Bev make what is a very special house, a perfect place to stay.

I have stayed in both rooms and both are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable.

The welcome is first class and the food cannot be beaten!

If there is a better place to stay in Cumbria I will be very surprised. Unbeatable value £££ :-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights at the end of August and had a fantastic time. Sue and Bev made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived with our 2 small children - tea and homemade cake served in the garden was a perfect start to our holiday. Would highly recommend Dufton House for anyone who wants to explore the Northern Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
275 reviews
2.7 mi away
Graysonside
Graysonside
#1 of 15 in Cockermouth
150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Croft House
Croft House
#3 of 15 in Cockermouth
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dufton House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dufton House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dufton House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 High Brigham | Brigham, Cockermouth CA13 0TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dufton House is a Grade 2 listed Georgian farm house dating back to 1662 situated in a peaceful village just 2 miles from Cockermouth. The house retains many original features including the stone staircase, wood panelling, sash windows and window seats overlooking the secluded walled garden.Our spacious central heated double bedroom with en-suite is tastefully decorated while the second double bedroom has a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dufton House Bed & Breakfast Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing