We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait.”
Review of The Front Room

The Front Room
Ranked #33 of 72 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Telephone Number:- 01900 826655
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We live locally and have been planning on going to this restaurant for ages, has been a bit difficult to arrange due to the fact that they are only open Thursday-Saturday evenings and not during the winter, and when they are open they seem to be fully booked but it was WORTH THE WAIT! The food was fantastic, unpretentious and delicious! We really enjoyed the evening. I would recommend the chicken and chorizo one pot! Recommend you book in advance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolce309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“small portions big price”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Its the only restaurant I could say that I have been to that the portions was that small and the price was that big you did not feel full when you came out we had to make sandwiches when we came home what a disappointment

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chiinamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet, Cosy, Friendly, All relevant descriptions to apply to this Restraunt”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The menu is varied, the cooking is without complaint, mine host is not overpowering in what is without doubt a smaller venue. More than one meal has been enjoyed here, and though its always best to book, you may be lucky if you turn up on the night, but don't count on it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Worth a visit if your in Cockermouth.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ticked all the stars as I could not find a fault with the place. It is what it is and does it well. Food was good, service excellent and the small selection of drinks was adequate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Small, friendly restaurant with very well cooked and presented food. Hard to resist 3 courses! A gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amumwhocares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Room also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to The Front Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing