We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxed, great food”
Review of The Front Room

The Front Room
Ranked #33 of 72 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Telephone Number:- 01900 826655
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, relaxed, great food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We love going to the front room. You know that Alan and Jo really care about ensuring you enjoy your meal and they always have time to chat and check that everything is OK with the meal.

The food is healthy and tasty, portion sizes just right and menu choice a pleasure to read. We recently had a big family gathering there for our birthdays and they added special touches to make the night a very happy one for us.

It holds a special place in our hearts and that is due to the wonderful owners and staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeozCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous family run restaurant”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Can't believe the negative reviews I'm reading about this fantastic family run restaurant. It's absolutely, definitely our favourite place to eat in Cockermouth. The food is great, the service is great, and Alan and his staff are always friendly and make you feel very welcome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great evening”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another good meal with good friends & good service.
A lovely little family run Bistro with that personal touch of service that I like. Just makes you feel so comfortable.
Now open Thursday to Saturday evenings from 18:30 onwards.
And Saturday from 10:00 to 16:00

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisa_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived without a reservation and were offered a table no problem. The service was great as well as the food and wine. One of the best meals we have had and will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 171fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely little bistro. Great food, service, atomsphere and (if you're lucky) live music!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have eaten at the Front Room numerous times over the last five years and have never been disappointed. The food is lovely, the service is fantastic and the place has a great atmosphere. We have eaten at the Front Room as a couple, with friends and with family. The owners Alan and Joanne have always been the perfect hosts. If you're lucky, Alan (who is the best guitarist we have ever heard) will play and sing a few songs after service! Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Europesurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Room also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to The Front Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing