We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Beauty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crow How Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crow How Country Guest House
Ranked #7 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful Beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent one week at Crow How, and we really enjoyed our stay. It is all about quality and care! Comfortable bed, powerful shower, relaxing bath and selected toiletries in a quiet room is what you desire after tough hiking or long journey. The room has a nice view and doesn't share walls with others. Comprehensive and detailed travel guide makes our stay easy and simple.
The breakfast is good. The only downside is that the breakfast serving period is a bit short. it is between 8:15-9:15.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    46
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
351
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Super location, amazing gardens, great food served by wonderful staff. Its an 1100 mile round trip for us to ambleside but we are already planning our next stay at crow how. Stayed in rooms 8&9 which are on their own private landing, excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Crow How and had a lovely stay. The location is excellent for the walks we wanted to do and was only a 10 minute walk into Ambleside. We found the staff friendly, helpful and the breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Our only disappointment was the room,we stayed in room 3 which was clean and nice however I did not think it really deserved the title of a 'superior' room. We had paid extra for this after reading all the reviews of these large rooms with excellent views but the rooms must vary massively as we certainly didn't have an enormous bed and the room was small. If we had paid for a standard room then we would have been more than happy as it was a nice room but more was expected for the price. However this did not affect our stay as we were out most of the time anyway.
We would still recommend The Crow How and have no other complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmeen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Apart from the picturesque and quiet setting, this place doesn't understand family requirements.

We were never welcomed, never introduced properly to our hosts and basically left to our own.

Eddie, who is a real charmer, basically read us the riot act. And if we didn't quite get it, it was written for us in our room as a reminder.

You want to take your own drink back with you, then that is a charge of 5 GBP. Any of your own food, 5 GBP. Think of anything you would like to do and it will have a 5 GBP surcharge. No stains, no this, no that!

Breakfast was only served at 08:15 to 09:15 . . Don't be late! And at the end of the day, you can retire back to your room which has not been serviced!

As international travelers on a 5 week trip of England, this was the worse reception we have encountered to date!

A real disappointment

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josepha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowHow, Owner at Crow How Country Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are very sorry our guests did not enjoy their stay with us. We would however like to clarify a few issues that we feel are not accurate in the review.

We do not charge anything for guests wishing to bring drinks back to the room with them but do have a surcharge for any extras asked from us such as wine glasses. This is because we sell alcoholic drinks in the hotel. There are glasses in the bedrooms for guest use. Snacks etc brought into the hotel are fine with us but we do not allow takeaways in the bedrooms.

We ask our guests to display their 'please service room' sign on their door if they want their rooms to be cleaned. This avoids any interuption if the guests are still in their rooms. The guests in question had booked two rooms with one of the rooms having their 'do not disturb' sign out, so was left. This was an error on their part and not ours and was explained to our guest.

Our breakfast time is between 8:15 and 9:15am but we do allow a little leeway either side. This time is stated on our website. At no time at all was any threat made of not being late.

We make every effort to insure that our guests are well recieved. When speaking to our reviewers when they ordered drinks with us they seemed pleased with the hotel. If they had any problems or issues then we would have prefered them to raise them with us at the time.

We are sorry again for our guests displeasure with their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

The Crow how is wonderful gem in beautiful settings. This is and was for us the perfect place for a nice relaxing week.

The rooms are large, clean and well furnished. The bed was enormous and very comfortable and the bathroom was fit for a king. With its high powered shower and whirlpool bath that really helped regenerate you after a hard days walking.

The hotel itself is setback off the main road and is a 10min walk from Ambleside and 5 from Rydal. This may seem quite remote to some but it works well when working off an evening meal or a few drinks. There are goods walks of the area from right outside the door step and the owner is more than happy with any guidance of walks to suit all.

Advice for eating in Ambleside itself is to check trip advisor or ask the staff first as it can be hit and miss.

There are good facilities for walkers with a drying room on site and maps of the area displayed by reception.

There is a reading room and lounge area for the guests and although there is no bar in the hotel they do have drinks available at reception, from local ales to wine by the bottle or glass (The house red and hawshead gold are especially nice)

The breakfast was very good although on a couple of days there was no fresh fruit available.

We felt that having an option of a morning paper could have been a nice touch however, but we didn't ask.

The main thing we found was that nothing was to much trouble and the staff were more than happy to help with any request.

I did feel the price was a little above average. However the accomadation and service were well worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappySparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a sublime stay.

The hosts are incredibly helpful, nothing seems to be too much trouble, their enthusiasm and local knowledge ensure no aimless wandering about gets between you and the hills. We walked. we fished, we chilled and we are so relaxed, really holidayed out as a result of our four days with them.

The building is a delight, read the stuff on the walls in the reception hall, it gives the building context and makes you realise that its own history, like us, is just a component of something that shall be there in another two hundred years.

There really are black and a few, pure white rabbits in the grounds. Watch out Alice. The seed feeders at the back of the kitchen are entertainment in themselves. We watched... every member of the tit families, bar the crested, so, long, coal, blue and incredibly, bearded! on top of that, gold finches dunnocks and starlings. Mind you, they have a veritable feast given each day, so who can blame them.

But that's the thing about this place. Harmony. The owners don't subscribe to Vogue so the public areas are traditional (a little eighties) rather than inventive. However, when you're up to your eyes in mud, thrashing a water with a fly or simply trying to get closer to God upon a hilltop, the things you need are brilliant, brilliant courtesy, local knowledge, a smile morning noon and night and an abject desire to make sure that your world is well, on the part of the hosts.

I shall never stay anywhere else, when next in the lakes.

To the owner.... Fried bread is not an option, it's a necessity. Therefore, offer it. cheerfully.

Rant over.

Highly recommended by us.

Room Tip: Room 9 looks to the rear, the hills and the feeders, sheep bleating etc, really comfy bed, tons of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsieurDeLys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop Notts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay here. We booked a superior room - this was worth it. The room was clean, large with a great view. The bathroom had a shower worthy of a 'power' accolade, with a stand-alone bath that was great to soak in.
A great big comfortable bed and so quiet and peaceful - best nights sleep my wife has had in a long while. The staff were courteous but not obtrusive. Breakfast was acceptable but not outstanding.
The only minor downside was that a brown dog belonging to the adjacent farm bounded out and gave a good example of herding sheep albeit it was just me and my wife returning from a night out. My wife does not get on with dogs and felt a little intimidated and as a result we drove rather than walked into Ambleside for the following nights evening meals. That said I did not raise this with the owners of Crow How. Do not let this put you off but is worth knowing if a dog growling and barking freaks you out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowHow, Owner at Crow How Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We are very happy that our guest enjoyed their stay with us. We would however have preferred if they had mentioned to us about the farmers dog as we would have put their mind at ease. The dog is quite harmless and on rare occasions when the farmer is away does tend to try to round up the odd person down the lane. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
1.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crow How Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow How Country Guest House

Property: Crow How Country Guest House
Address: Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crow How Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a stunning rural setting in the historic Rydal Valley amidst the fells, this grand Victorian building was built as a farm house in 1848 from the stones of ancient Rydal Hall, before being converted into a Country Guest House in the early 1930's. Set in our own 2 acre gardens Crow How has been sympathetically renovated to provide you with a perfect base to explore the beautiful Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crow How Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crow How Country House Hotel Ambleside
Crow How Country Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing