We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat! Lounge with flat screen Television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat!
Lounge with flat screen Television
Master bedroom set up with king sized bed
master bedroom set up with twin beds
Master bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Layout
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher, full size fridge/freezer, microwave
Second bedroom with original beams, solar powered velux.  Full of character.
second bedroom with views to the fells
Lounge/kitchen
view from second bedroom
Christmas in 2 The Old Coach House
bedroom lounge area with dressing table.
We absolutely love special occasions!!
captures the serenity of the cottage perfectly - heaven!
So peaceful!!!!
View from master bedroom
Ambleside town centre
The Bridge House Ambleside!
One of many traditional bars - The Golden Rule
Zeferelli's cinema and Jazz bar, wine bar
Compston Road Ambleside
Enjoy a refreshing drink at Zeferreli's and gaze at Wansfell!
St Mary's Church Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed June 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Stayed in this lovely cottage for three nights and we couldn't have chosen a better place for our short break.

Fantastic location with parking for one car which was a bonus. Cottage was well equipped and a welcome pack was also supplied. Immaculately clean and the owner couldn't have been more helpful when we emailed with questions.

Bit quirky with the mezzanine bedroom above the living area but nothing that would deter us from staying there in the future.

Would recommend to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage. It certainly is quirky and very hard to describe!!!!! Hope to see you again. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne P
2 reviews
“Great cottage in ambleside”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Myself,my husband and our 8 year old son stayed at the old coach house for 3 nights this week. I hate to have to
share but what a great place ...... suited u perfectly. It's everything we expected from the description but also have to say from enquiry point to the stay the owner Margaret was so lovely to deal with via email text and over the phone.... we will definitely book to stay here again... Thanks Margaret.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Hope to see you again! M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaJa...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Nice Break away”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Me, my partner and our dog stayed in the cottage for three nights. The cottage itself is a lovely set up and very relaxing and modern. The welcome pack was nice. We met the owners they where nice and very helpful with advice on bars and restaurants. The cottage is really close to the town centre which is ideal. We had really hot weather so it was nice to go into the cottage after a long day out and it would be nice and cool due to it hidden away from direct sun.
The only down side to the cottage is we thought there was a smell of really strong dog wee that I had to keep spraying the air freshener. I understand it is a dog friendly cottage hence why I took my dog but my dog is trained therefore will not wee inside. One of the spot lights in the bathroom was flickering on and off which was abit annoying. Other than that it's a great little cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the cottage and the location. Sounds like you have had a fab break. I am so sorry that you thought there was a funny smell. We both cleaned the cottage and did not notice anything. We carry a carpet cleaner in the van at all times for any spillages etc. If you had let us know we could have sorted out very easily as we are just around the corner. Hope to see you back again. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen T
Gatehouse of Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed May 27, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We booked the cottage for a week and it was everything we hoped and more . The attention to detail is spot on and the wee welcome pack was lovely . The cottage is in a perfect location for shops and walks and the bus stop is just along the road if you don't want to use your car , we had such a relaxing time and the cottage is so well equipped we even cooked a meal the local butcher is fab . Thank you Margaret and Graham for providing us with a beautiful place for our much needed holiday we can't wait to come back it was perfect we loved it and would recommend it to anyone visiting Ambleside for a break X

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the cottage and the amazing area that Ambleside is!!!!!! Looking forward to welcoming you back!!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevedavi...
worksop
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect Lake District base for dog owners”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Overall the accommodation was lovely and the owners were very helpful. One of the bedrooms is above the kitchen and living room so if you're in a party of 4 you'll need to carefully choose who sleeps where. There is just one parking space but if you have a second vehicle you can use a pay and display over the road for £1 if you get an early bird ticket. The property is just off the Ambleside high street, a 2 minute walk and you're there. Of course there are house rules for dog owners but if you're a responsible owner then you won't have a problem. I would certainly return to this property if we go to the Lakes again. I would recommend the Coniston walk around the old quarry, it's amazing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
thank you so much for reviewing the cottage and yes we find dog owning guests to be particularly courteous and caring of our cottage and normally there is no evidence of dogs being here at all (except for an odd left toy!) - Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley2f...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had a wonderful time in Ambleside, the cottage was lovely very clean and a nice welcome pack on arrival. I have just noticed though, the seating area in your photo doesn't look like it actually is. You should update your photo, appart from that it is a wonderful place to stay and very central for pubs and restaurants.
Thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the lodge both inside and amazing location! Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ambleside cottage”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely cottage, very well equipped and welcoming. In the perfect location a 2 minute walk to pubs and shop, added advantage having your own parking space.
No garden but due to location that wasn’t any issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to review the cottage. The location is perfect to appreciate all that Ambleside has to offer so glad you enjoyed it. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing