We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat! Lounge with flat screen Television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat!
Lounge with flat screen Television
Master bedroom set up with king sized bed
master bedroom set up with twin beds
Master bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Layout
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher, full size fridge/freezer, microwave
Second bedroom with original beams, solar powered velux.  Full of character.
second bedroom with views to the fells
Lounge/kitchen
view from second bedroom
Christmas in 2 The Old Coach House
bedroom lounge area with dressing table.
We absolutely love special occasions!!
captures the serenity of the cottage perfectly - heaven!
So peaceful!!!!
View from master bedroom
Ambleside town centre
The Bridge House Ambleside!
One of many traditional bars - The Golden Rule
Zeferelli's cinema and Jazz bar, wine bar
Compston Road Ambleside
Enjoy a refreshing drink at Zeferreli's and gaze at Wansfell!
St Mary's Church Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley39
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is very quirky in its layout but was perfect for three of us and a dog. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking. The cottage is perfectly placed for walking into Ambleside for the restaurants and pubs. The fact that it takes dogs is great and ours loved it! Margaret was a lovely host and was very communicative and left us a nice bottle of wine and some basics for when we arrived which was a nice touch. The parking isn't for a large car but my Honda Civic fitted in just fine. We had the large bedroom which overlooks the kitchen and was a lovely airy room. All in all, a briliant place to stay and, if you have a dog, far better than a hotel in our opinion.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you so much for an amazing review. It is very difficult to describe the cottage and its quirkiness but you have managed. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyMac...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful on Windermere”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Shockingly it's almost a year since we stayed here! But we still remember it vividly! What a gorgeous and quirky wee cottage! Ideally placed in the centre of Ambleside. Handy for all local amenities. Fabulous attention to detail from booking enquiry to checking out! We will hopefully be back sometime soon

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Many thanks for reviewing our cottage. Sounds like you had a fantastic holiday. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl N
1 review
“cottage with character”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely cottage, great location to walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Own parking space. Everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Would return again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage. So glad you had a fab time. mx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
thank you so much for such an amazing review!!!! The cottage is very hard to describe!!! You really have to experience it and we would love to welcome you back soon. Congratulations to you both
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
Thank you so much for taking time to review the cottage. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laineydun...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Ambleside Cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely 3night stay in this wee quaint n quirky cottage. It had everything you needed for your stay, it was home from home. The cottage is a 2 minute walk into Ambleside and about 10/15 minute walk down to Lake Windermere. Margaret and Graham are great hosts advising you on trips and walks around the area. On arrival the wine and birthday balloon was a lovely surprise. I have already recommended this cottage to friends and they have booked up. Will we be back this year.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Many thanks for such a positive review. So pleased you had an amazing time at the cottage and even more thanks for recommending us to your friends. This as always is our best advertisement. Hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassiepu
1 review
“New year break”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Me and my family had a lovely time staying here for new year. Prosecco on arrival along with milk, juice etc. Would defiantly recommend

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the cottage. So glad you loved the cottage. I knew it would be ideal for your family! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing