We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here last August with my husband as a birthday get-away. We were looking forward to going for some long walks, but the rain was torrential so we spent most of our day in the Golden Rule, which is a fab pub just round the corner.
The Waterwheel was recommened to us by a friend and I'm so pleased they told us about this gem of a B&B. Loved the port and cake in our room, the big free standing bathtub and organic toiletries.The best thing though was the warm welcome from Nigel and Julie, who made us feel like old friends even though we were just customers. Bad tempered ones that had turned up very stressed after a terrible journey where I'd pranged my new Audi!
It was clear how much they care about the place and couldn't have done more for us.
Looking forward to going back and hopefully we'll get up on the fells next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 331 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location in centre of Ambleside, in a character building.
Included a parking permit - very useful as the town was so busy.
Very welcoming hosts, friendly and helful, suggested a lovely walk to Grasmere and gave us a walking route. Very comfortable and cosy room. Very tasty breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 night stay with our brilliant hosts Nigel & Julie and the best way to sum it up would be "perfect". We booked 2 rooms for four of us as we were surprising a friend for his birthday and from the minute we arrived (after being guided in by Nigel on telephone) to the minute we left full up after an excellent Cumbrian breakfast from Julie we could not fault a thing. Yes, we enjoyed our complimentary port and bottles of water and the room was beautifully finished and spotless but what makes this place is the owners who have the perfect balance between being helpful and unobtrusive. The place is located away from the main road and is within 5 minutes walking from everywhere in the village. We will definitely return in the summer. Thank you Nigel and Julie.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livergypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the moment we arrived Julie made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was great in the morning. The room was beautiful in a great central location. Little extras like bottled water and port made the room!!

Our host Julie recommended two places to eat and the food at these establishments was amazing. I really couldn't say anything bad about The Waterwheel guesthouse. Amazing!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelbkerriec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just got home from staying with Julie and Nigel for 3 nights. Waiting for us was an email telling us we had left a mobile phone charger behind and that they were putting it in the post for us.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and can only repeat what so many have said before. The bed was very comfortable, the room spotlessly clean. Breakfasts a treat. Every night there was a decanter with a little drop of port in sufficient for 2 small glasses, I think the fairies bring it.
The decor is very tasteful and just added to the relaxed vibe that we had.
I was a little concerned about leaving our 1 day old car in the car park overnight, but needn't have worried. We even managed to grab a space in North road - which is right outside, Nigel provided us with the requisite parking ticket thingy. I suggest you use Google streetview to plan ahead, it makes life much easier when you turn up for real.
Ambleside can be very busy and finding somewhere to eat out can be a bit of a bother but Nigel and Julie will guide you to the best places to eat, and at busy times we would suggest booking ahead.

Would we stay here again - absolutely!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Not the first time we've stayed here and certainly won't be the last! Very clean and comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. Good central location, very picturesque. Owners are very friendly and helpful with lots of advice (if needed) on how to get the most out of your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylorscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent a week in this B&B during October 2011. The rooms were small as expected in an old cottage but they were comfortable. The bathrooms were wonderful, spacious with the kind of facilities that you need after hiking all day. Since there were three of us, we took over the place and it was almost like having a home in the middle of the Lake District.

The innkeepers were charming and the breakfasts were great (definitely try the sausages)..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roscoe112010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#1 of 102 in Ambleside
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 102 in Ambleside
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterwheel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Guesthouse

Address: 3 Bridge Street, Ambleside LA22 9DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $138 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterwheel Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Grade II Listed building sits on an ancient cobbled street overlooking Stockghyll stream. All the shops and restaurants of Ambleside are a short stroll. There are just 3 bedrooms, all doubles, each with a Victorian style iron bedstead. Each room has its own bathroom with a bath, shower and heated towel rail. Victorian landscape prints, original slate floors and quality antique furniture all add to the historic and charming atmosphere. A parking permit for the nearby car park is provided.Please note, there is a 2 night minimum stay and 3 nights minimum on bank holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Waterwheel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Guesthouse Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing