We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bobby and Marion - A tremendous B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #15 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bobby and Marion - A tremendous B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just back from a wonderful two days staying at the Amboseli Lodge. Reg and Gwen always make us feel so welcome and they make you feel at home. Our room as usual was spotlessly clean. We cannot recommend this B & B enough and a colleague of mine also goes on our recommendation. We will be back again hopefully in April. Reg and Gwen always take the time to chat and offer advice on varies walks and also eating places.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
273
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Scarborough
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just go.....it's wonderful. Best breakfast in Ambleside and Gwen & Reg are fantastic hosts. The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable. I cannot recommend this B&B enough. It is the first place we try to book when visiting the lakes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertNFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

There are a number of extremely good B&Bs in Ambleside and Amboseli Lodge is up at the top of the list for me. The only downside is that word seems to have spread, making it a well sought after place to stay, and for good reason.
My fiancee and I stayed for a couple of days and felt as if we'd left having made a couple of new friends. Gwen greeted us with a huge smile while Reg made tea and biscuits and both made absolutely certain that we were happy and comfortable throughout the stay.
The room, at the rear of the property, was fresh, light and airy, and spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom (and I mean bathroom, not just shower-room), lovely for stretching out in after a hard day's walk!
Given that the property is on the edge of the main road in to and through Ambleside you'd be forgiven for thinking that it may be noisy but it's actually the quietest place we've stayed in the centre to date (and we've been going to Ambleside for the last ten years!)
We'll definitely be staying here again and would recommend this B&B to you too.

Room Tip: The room at the back of the property has great views of Wansfell Pike
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have just returned from our first visit to Amboseli Lodge , it certainly will not be the last.
Gwen and Reg made us feel so welcome , we were greeted with coffee and biscuits and they were so friendly taking time to chat and offer us advice on local amenities and walks , It was our anniversary while we were there and they left a lovely card and gift in our room which made us feel special. The accommodation was spotless , warm and well maintained .The breakfast was excellent . We Have no hesitation in recommending this excellent establishment to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Amboseli and are already looking forward to staying again. From the lovely, well-cooked breakfast which set us up for a long wet walk in the fells to the to the bright, spotlessly clean bedroom, we could not have asked for more from our welcoming friendly hosts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I made our second visit to Amboseli Lodge in September 2012 having stayed there for the first time in August 2011 and already we were treated like part of the family. There is no doubt that Gwen and Reg have the business of running a guest house off to a fine art. They only returned from their own holiday on the day we arrived for a three night stay but you would not have known that if it had not been mentioned - they are two very professional people for whom nothing is too much trouble. The house is spotless from top to bottom, the rooms are of a good size and have everything you would expect to find in a guest room, and Gwen seems to have an eye for innovation as we noticed quite a few small updates from last year. Being walkers themselves Reg's knowledge of the area is tremendously helpful and readily shared. Some may be able to equal Amboseli Lodge but we doubt that any can better it and we look forward to as many return visits as time and health will allow. Well done Reg and Gwen.

Room Tip: There are three rooms all to an equally high standard but 'Loughrigg' and 'Wansfell'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a find. Family get together for 2 brothers and one sister with partners.Gwen and Reg a delight and nothing too much trouble. Champagne chilled and flutes provided. Beautifully clean and spacious bedrooms. Fabulous breakfasts which set us up for the day. 2 nights not long enough. Coffee on arrival which was really lovely. We will be back. No hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berrydyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#12 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Property: Amboseli Lodge
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing