We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of Amboseli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Lodge
Ranked #2 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at Amboseli now a number of times and have always had a wonderful time. Gwen and Reg make you feel so very welcome and take the extra time to talk to you and ensure you are happy. The breakfasts are wonderful as our weight can testify for
The location itself is ideal with being in the very centre of Ambleside with a wonderful view of the park and 5 minutes from the fantastic countryside, but also close to the restaurants and bars for an evening out.
we wil be back.

Room Tip: The back room overlooks the lovely garden
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Amboseli Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 363 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Amboseli Lodge is a lovely B&B! Since we found Reg and Gwen’s B&B a few years ago, we have returned every year. We would visit more often if the flight from Texas weren’t so long and tiring. With only 3 rooms, you won’t get lost in the crowd. Staying at the Amboseli Lodge is like staying with family. The rooms are exceptionally well furnished and decorated. The location in Ambleside is ideal. But the best feature of Amboseli is the management team. Want to chat? Need local information? Have a medical problem (we did!) Want your breakfast a little different? Want walking recommendations? Reg and Gwen are the best you can find!
Lewis and Jan

Room Tip: Every room is excellent, but there are only 3 - book early!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis USA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was a nice experience to stay at this B&B. The rooms where perfecly clean and a nice welcome with coffee and tea on arrival. Beds are very comfortabe and gives you a good nights sleep. The location is perfect close to "downtown" Ambleside and walks starting practically from the door. The walls between the rooms are a littel thin so you have to think about to keep the noice level down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sniff112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This has now been our fourth visit to this wonderful bed and breakfast hotel. A very warm personal welcome and freshly brewed coffee with biscuits greet you upon arrival. The decor, furniture and cleanliness of the Amboseli Lodge are faultless. Every ingredient on the breakfast menu is of the very highest quality and wonderfully cooked. Gwen and Reg's local knowledge knows no bounds. This couple will do everything possible to ensure you have a truly wonderful stay Lastly, this hotel is ideally situated being a very short walk into Ambleside and very close to the bus station.

Room Tip: Each of the three bedrooms are equally furnished to a high standard.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had a fantastic few days at Amboseli lodge as soon as you knock on the door you are made to feel so welcome, Gwens cheery smile and very welcome tray of tea and biscuits is just the start to the wonderful hospitality we had all weekend. the rooms are spotless with the most comfortable bed and pillows you could ask for.Your made to feel nothing is too much trouble, the fantastic freshly prepared breakfast sets you up for the day with various choices to satisfy anybodies taste be it cooked breakfast or pancakes! cant recommend highly enough!
Thanks Gwen and Reg see you again soon. kim & Phil Lindop

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Gewn and Reg make you feel so welcome every time. From the moment you arrive it's like a home from home. The welcoming pot of tea and biscuits on arrival is most appreciated.The rooms are so comfortable and clean. The choice at breakfast time is just right and the location in Ambleside is ideal for everything you want to do in or around this beautifull Lake District town. The weather this time wasn't great but Reg made sure all of our wet coats and boots were dry for us the next day. You couldn't wish to meet two nicer people. Can't wait to go back again.
Thanks Gwen and Reg

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Gwen and Reg give a very big warm welcome to everyone who stays. This was our second visit to Ambosili Lodge and after along wet drive we was welcomed with a cheery smile and hot coffee and tea with biscuits.The place is immaculate, beds are so comfortable, lovely warm rooms, breakfast is delicious (even home made fresh fruit salad... not tinned fruit) nothings to much trouble. Location is close to town centre and just across the road from the park. Gwen and Reg thank you once again. Jo & Nigel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 242us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#4 of 103 in Ambleside
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Lodge

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $122 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, the Amboseli Lodge Bed and Breakfast Guest House is ideal for either that short getaway, or the longer holiday when you want the extra time to take in more of what the beautiful lake District has to offer.It is a great place to site yourself for visiting any area of the Lakes, whether you're walking, cycling, using public transport or your own car. Amboseli Lodge is an affordable bed and breakfast location at all times of the yearOffering Parking close to the centre of Ambleside make the Amboseli Lodge a favourite with walkers and shoppers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amboseli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing