We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a brilliant atmosphere!”
Review of Zeffirellis

Zeffirellis
Ranked #12 of 121 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food with a brilliant atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on Friday 5th July 2013. We pre booked a table being a Friday night. It was busy but not over crowded. The tables are a decent size and well spaced. The decor of the restaurant is fantastic. A real nice atmosphere. The staff are friendly and the service was great. The food was lovely and the bill (although correct when checked) was less than we thought. A great meal all round.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leachy3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,315
    575
    153
    67
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had booked a weekend away in Ambleside and after a busy day was looking for an evening meal. We had an added complication, as we had our little dog with us. So we had to find somewhere to eat that didn’t mind a dog. We had the absolute pleasure of stumbling on Zeffirellis while looking for somewhere to eat. It looked ideal as it had an outside seating area. After wondering if we could take our dog in the outside seating area, we asked a member of staff who said it was no problem at all.

We ordered a starter each and a main meal each, washed down with some red wine. Now I know everyone’s taste is different, which is what you have to take in to account when reading reviews. One thing we both totally agreed on was the food; we just couldn’t fault it at all. It was tasty with lots of flavour and very pleasing to the eye. It was seriously yummy. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, when asked they even brought a bowl of water for our dog.

We’ll defiantly be dining there again. 10/10

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank in-viator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a summers evening enjoying a delicious meal outside. Food was fresh and tasty, service was attentative and friendly. Will return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OK food, nice location”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I visited here and had the meal/cinema combo deal. The restaurant is really nicely decorated and the staff very attentive. The meal deal was good value, although the menu prices did seem a little high (that said, Ambleside is not a cheap place to eat anyway)
The food was pretty good. We both had the lentil ragu. The sauce was delicious, but the pasta was quite overcooked. As per other reviewers, the food did come a little too quickly, especially the main courses which were delivered as the waitress was clearing our starters away.
The location is great though - we took advantage of the restaurant, the cinema, followed by a drink in the jazz bar where a live jazz band was playing, which was lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place, with bar, restaurant and cinema”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had some cocktails and watched a movie here. The staff are quite friendly. The location is good and the cinema was really comfortable. I'd recommend to anyone to check out on a rainy day for the cinema.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vixen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeffirellis also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Zeffirellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing