We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mates Rates”

The Drunken Duck Inn
Ranked #18 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $82
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mates Rates”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Lake District and a must when visiting the area is a visit to The Drunken Duck.
As ever the food was very good and the atmosphere relaxed and welcoming, however I was disappointed to hear a conversation at the bar between bar staff and a "local" who it seems are entitled to reduction on the advertised prices because by virtue "they were local".
Forgive me but if the business success is predominately based on the visiting tourist pound why should those of us who are not local subsidise those who are and how does this make your "tourist" customers feel, if like me, little better than a cash cow who is easily exploited.
Please Drunken Duck play fair or at the very least advise your staff to be more discreet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    314
    118
    77
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy environment with good atmosphere”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

A good night out with good food and good beer. Recommend the drunken duck main course for two. Although expensive, it was very good and left little space for desert.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ate at the Duck on Friday Oct 11th (evening) booked for 8-30pm but it was 9-15ish before the first course arrived. However...... it was definitely worth the wait. Out of the party of 6 4 had the drunken duck and 2 venison. Main courses were excellent as were the starters. Only 2 of us had room for sweet and they were really good too. Service was good once we got going and the place itself has a tremendous atmosphere. Would definitely return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pie to die”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have to disagree with previous review.
If you want to treat yourself, and who doesn't, call in for lunch.
It might be an expensive pork pie and Piccalilli -£5.75( or thereabouts) but add a pint of stout and the world appears a cheerier place.
Staff were friendly and competent. Aimed a bit more up-market than other Lakeland inns but a very pleasant place to be and you don't feel out of place in walking boots.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swhite s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A restaurant only remains successful if reputations can be maintained...the slide seems to have started!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I have been a huge fan of The Drunken Dick for a long time and have had many a fine meal. Alas, however, I fear the slippery slope to mediocrity may have started. We went for Saturday lunch. There was one bar person taking orders and a healthy queue forming before a second appeared, with the helpful information that the card machine wasn't working and that it was either cash or a walk to the hotel reception to pay. I could cope with that, however what I couldn't cope with was simply the worst "soup" that I have ever been served in a restaurant. Spicy lentil was simply a curry paste which did not even qualify as being one dimensional. Shame on you chef for sending that out for human consumption. The cornbread hash did go some way to rectifying the situation but the overall experience was one of disappointment. Staff need to be more able to think laterally. An establishment is only as good as its ability to handle an awkward situation...I wasn't impressed. Please The Drunken Duck stop resting on laurels and smarten up both the food and service. Staff in a proper uniform would help. Technology working is also a must. I want to be able to continue to recommend you. I am seriously struggling to do so after today.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunken Duck Inn also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing