We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub but overpriced food”

The Drunken Duck Inn
Ranked #18 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $82
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but overpriced food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely pub up the top of a hill with friendly staff. Had a great vibe. Unfortunately the £10+ Reuben sandwich did not live up to the price - one thin piece of meat with some cheese - it was only lukewarm on the outside and cold in the middle as well. I would come back again but order something more substantial to get my money's worth.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    314
    118
    77
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Treat yourselves to something special!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I had lunch here after recommendations from other friends and it certainly lived up to it's reputation. It was New Years Eve and as expected was really busy but we soon had a table and a drink while perusing the extensive lunch time menu. We both chose the Gruyere and sage omelette with apple salad and chips and it was a delight! The omelette was light and so tasty and the chips were to die for, good old fashioned fat ones! We finished off with coffee and mince pies and were thoroughly satisfied. Even though it was busy we found the staff to be very pleasant and efficient and we will definitely be coming back here. The evening menu looks very inviting and I was impressed to discover that all of their food is sourced locally with the suppliers listed. This place is a gem in beautiful surroundings and well worth a visit, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Litlmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely pub, lovely food and lovely hosts”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Open fires. Welcoming atmosphere. Great food. Fantastic hosts.
Nothing to dislike about this place - honestly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmzyAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's a great pub serving great local beer. Very friendly service and cosy ambience. Rustic wooden interior is just stunning. Unfortunately we got there out of serving hours and couldn't have lunch. And actually dinner meal prices were a bit high. Nevertheless, Drunken Duck is worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MildaLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gastro country pub, a real treat”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Called in for a lunch and left stuffed! Had a lovely soup starter (comes with a very large freshly baked crusty roll) then a fillet steak and onion sandwich with gorgeous chips. Friendly service. Not rushed. Quiet and cosy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunken Duck Inn also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing