We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wythburn Apartment

Wythburn Apartment is very nice with nice people around to help if you need !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wythburn Apartment is very nice with nice people around to help if you need !
Off road parking in the middle of town! Nice comfy king size bed with nice views and ensuite WC !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
53 reviews
Wythburn Apartment is very nice with nice people around to help if you need !
Off road parking in the middle of town!
Nice comfy king size bed with nice views and ensuite WC !
Spacious comfy sitting room for relaxing!
Fully tiled bathroom with heated floor very nice !!
Ambleside the jewel in the crown of the Lakes
Nice kitchen with dishwasher so forget the washing up !
Kitchen is clean and modern
DIning table in sitting room
Ambleside the north end of Lake WIndermere catch the boat and go on a luvvly boat ride!
Bedroom nice and airy (unless its raining like!)
Have an ice cream and watch the tourists!
Modern bathroom with heated floor
Have a nice cup of tea after a walk on the fells!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Suzanne V
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed January 20, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the apartment recently and cannot recommend it enough. Met by David and Mike, we were welcomed in like old friends. David left us to unpack whilst he went and made refreshments. He returned with hot cups of tea and slices of cake - very much appreciated after a long journey.

The accommodation, on two floors, is perfect for a couple with or without young children as there is a bedroom and a sofa bed. The upstairs bedroom has an en suite toilet and wash room. Downstairs is the kitchen, bathroom and living/dining room. Whilst the decor may be subjective, it is perfectly adequate, clean and tidy. There are even books ,should you wish to read, and information left by David & Mike relating to the local area.

Superb value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2018
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and said you want to return.We like to provide a warm welcome but also respect peoples privacy so we are there if you want us.We were pleased that you mentioned it was like home from home and you found it well equipped for all your needs .We look forward to seeing you again.
David{owner]
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen Q
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst place we have ever stayed.”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wythburn apartments Ambleside. We arrived for the first day of our 4 night stay over the new year period and was met by David the owner who was a very nice man.

On entering the apartment both my husband and I were very disappointed at what we saw. The lounge area was so neglected and depressing, there was nothing cosy, warm or homely, it was like going back to the 70s, nothing seemed to have been updated from the furniture, carpet, curtains, wall pictures and tacky ornaments. There was a very small TV placed on a side table in the middle of the room and a very old Xmas tree with tinsel thrown on. Although the kitchen and bathroom were modern these are not the rooms you sit in to relax.
Having stayed at the Lake district for the past 10 years over the new year period, staying in various places, all of which were warm and cosy to go back to once we had been for our walks, this was so depessing that my husband and I decided to pack up and return home. We could not bring ourselves to stay for even 1 night. I would expect due to the neglect of the property and for all the inconvenience and distress caused that David will sort a refund to compensate us.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2017
We have waited till nearer Christmas and New Year to thankyou for your review and being the first couple to get engaged at Wythburn and share your excitement and joy with us so a very happy first Christmas together and a Wonderful New Year David [owner]
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mike H
Flitwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Clean and comfortable large apartment which exceeded our expectations. The bedroom has a king size bed and an ensuite toilet. The living room has a sofa bed and a tv and DVD player with a good selection of DVDs. The bathroom and kitchen are both modern and there is a dishwasher and washing machine. There is off road parking outside the apartment which is closer to the centre than the local car park! The hosts, David & Mike are fantastic and live below the apartment so are available if required and they recommended nearby's Lucy's restaurant which was brilliant.

The apartment is in a quiet road but is still less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of Ambleside which includes lots of restaurants/pubs/shops etc. and a Tesco/Co-op/Spar/Boots. Ambleside is a perfect place to explorer the lakes and you can catch the lake tours from Ambleside pier which is a picturesque 20 minutes stroll or a few minutes drive (parking at the pier is £5 all day)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Perfect guests and so considerate You wouldn't know they were there. I am so glad that you enjoyed your birthday at Lucy's and would love to see you again.
David (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrmw01535
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for the second time this year. Lovely, clean apartment. David was welcoming and on hand with advice, if needed. The off street parking is a bonus as a lot of places don't have this. We hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Lovely people who are welcome anytime David owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2017
We really appreciate the trouble you have taken to write this review and it makes us want to add some new ideas.Thankyou so much.David owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Granton
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ambleside is a great place to stay in the Lake District - buzzy, lots of places to eat and drink, great areas nearby for walking.

Wythburn Apartment is in the perfect location. Two minutes walk from the centre but really quiet and with an off-road parking space.

Plenty of space for a couple and everything you need. Owners could not be more helpful and pleasant.

Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing