We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment, fantastic location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wythburn Apartment

Wythburn Apartment is very nice with nice people around to help if you need !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wythburn Apartment is very nice with nice people around to help if you need !
Off road parking in the middle of town! Nice comfy king size bed with nice views and ensuite WC !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Wythburn Apartment is very nice with nice people around to help if you need !
Off road parking in the middle of town!
Nice comfy king size bed with nice views and ensuite WC !
Spacious comfy sitting room for relaxing!
Fully tiled bathroom with heated floor very nice !!
Ambleside the jewel in the crown of the Lakes
Nice kitchen with dishwasher so forget the washing up !
Kitchen is clean and modern
DIning table in sitting room
Ambleside the north end of Lake WIndermere catch the boat and go on a luvvly boat ride!
Bedroom nice and airy (unless its raining like!)
Have an ice cream and watch the tourists!
Modern bathroom with heated floor
Have a nice cup of tea after a walk on the fells!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jacqui120...
Ham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartment, fantastic location”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This apartment is in a quite street but a two minute walk to the centre of Ambleside, it comes with off street parking and has everything you could possibly want.The owner is very helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thankyou very much.We enjoyed meeting you and admired your adventurous spirits and humourous personalities.David -owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegularTr...
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Faultless - excellent apartment superbly located with the most friendly hosts”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This Ambleside apartment is excellent in every way. It's quietly located, warm and cosy, off street parking, and has everything you could possibly want. I've read a few reviews saying its decor is tired but I didn't find this at all. Sure, its decor isn't my taste, but then again, neither is yours and vice versa I'm sure. Safe to say it's really comfortable and quiet, its kitchen and bathrooms are spotless, and the bed has a good quality mattress topper.

Location wise, it's about a 3 minute walk to the centre of Ambleside with its coffee shops, and the same 3 minutes to a superb Italian, a really good Thai, and an excellent fish and chip shop. Now how good is that! We did a couple of circular hikes straight from the apartment (no car needed) to Wansfell Pike and another to Loughrigg Fell, plus a pleasant short walk to Stockghyll Force. There's loads of maps and walking books on the shelves.

The owners, David and Michael, are the nicest and most attentive I've met. Bonkers as a box of frogs the pair of them they go the extra mile to make you welcome along with Lainee, a lovely lady, keeping them both in check. Anything you might need they will sort it.

Would I make a return visit? Like a shot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to restaurants and coffee shops, and quiet location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
I waited till New Year to wish you a wonderful New Year and say that you would be welcome everywhere with your warmth and humour which we enjoyed so much-----David owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medsey
1 review
“"Superb location, albeit a little tired in places"”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for four nights from the 3rd to the 6th of October. The property is in a central location, literally a two minute walk from the centre of Ambleside with all its shops and amenities. David the owner is very friendly and on hand should you need him. As for the apartment itself, upon reading the visitors book it has been rented out since the early 90's and the decor doesn't appear to have been touched since then. The Kitchen and bathroom look to have been updated and are great (apart from the slight lack of privacy when having a shower in front of the window). It may have just been our personal taste but we felt the apartment just needed de cluttering of the owners personal touches, which are not to everybody's taste, re decorating, new bedding and fluffy towels (yes I did say fluffy) come on we are paying a lot of money, I expect fluffy and this is a biggie, a new mattress on the bed instead of lots of mattress toppers. I think if the apartment was not in such a great location it would struggle against other properties which have been designed to give travellers a more luxurious experience. I know it is all about the outdoors and don't get me wrong we only spent the odd few hours in the evening there but when you have had a long walk and more importantly spent a lot of money for a break its nice to come back to a place you want to relax in. I do hope the owners take it onboard, because the layout of the apartment and location are without fault, but with a little money spent on the interior design and furniture this could be a GREAT apartment.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
I thankyou for your ideas and will indeed consider them and feel we will meet them half way.While it is difficult to please everyone-we like to retain a cottagey feel-hence the style-it so far has been called superb ,lovely and delightful.AS for the memory foam mattress topper and douvet it is not necessary .I do it for extra comfort on other owners advice and indeed am sleeping on a bed made in the same way-----Thankyou David-owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne V
brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spot on accommodation in the centre of Ambleside”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very warm welcome by David and Michael. Nothing too much trouble. The apartment is on two floors with the lounge, kitchen, bathroom being on the first and the bedroom with en suite toilet on the second. Very peaceful even though a stone's throw to the centre of town. Welcomed with tea and cake; just what was needed after a six hour drive. Will certainly be returning.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Thankyou .We hope to see you again very soon.Its always a pleasure to see you.David-owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
Thankyou-we enjoy the company of such interesting and lovely people and will be only to happy to see you again-David-owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ali G
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd Stay here, can't fault it”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2014

This is our 2nd stay at Wythburn Apartment, stayed here for 4 nights with our dog. The apartment is spacious and clean and ideal for a couple. It is in the perfect location for the centre of Ambleside, so close to everything and an ideal base for a walking holiday. The owners live below and are so accommodating and friendly. They are there if you need them. I would recommend it to anyone and will be back again sometime.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Thankyou .Ali G ,Roy and Ozzie the beautiful dog entertained us with their antics all the time.Absolute pleasure to see you again-----David-owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendypatt...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and i with our golden retriever Buddy have just returned from a fantastic five day stay at Wythburn Apartment. David the owner was excellent, as soon as we arrived we were shown around the apartment, given lots of tips of places to visit,eat and walk. Apartment was fantastic, clean, homely and comfortable, everything you need, nothing was too much trouble for David, just ask, exceptional, can't wait to return, thank you David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thankyou .I hope Beautiful Buddy and yourselves have rested well after all your mountainous exertions in the lakes.I very much look forward to seeing you again.David-owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing