We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant - was expecting more from the food.....”
Review of Glass House - CLOSED

Glass House
Price range: $0 - $204
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
909 reviews
716 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant - was expecting more from the food.....”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

After visiting The Glass House a couple of years ago for what was a fantastic evening meal, we returned today for lunch with high expectations of another good feed.

The friendly waiter seated us and took our drinks order, and the drinks arrived promptly. The lunchtime menu is very limited if you want a hot meal and we went for the burger meal, and the roast turkey dinner.

The burger meal was OK, but not a knock-out for the £12 asking price. The unadvertised huge chunks of cucumber (which I can't stand) in the burger were not a nice surprise. The home-made burger itself was nice, as were the chunky chips.

My wife's turkey dinner was also OK, with tasty meat and lovely Cumberland stuffing. However, the sprouts had been sautéed rather than steamed, and were completely raw inside. This was a shame as the rest of the dish was nice, and the roast potatoes were great.

The restaurant is a lovely setting for a meal, and the service was very good. However, after the previous visit was so good, we couldn't help but feel a little disappointed this time round.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    145
    65
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the best food in Ambleside”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have been eating here for a few years now on our visits to Ambleside, and it is still as good as ever. The staff are very friendly and efficient, the food is delicious and good value for the quality of food too. We will be next year no doubt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wedgey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top Food and Service.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a table in the Glass House to try the food and were pleasantly surprised at just how good the food was as we, like others, had seen this restaurant on TV and saw the problems they were having a couple of years ago.
Well, forget that, the food there now is top class and the friendly service made us feel very welcome on a wet evening in the Lake district.
The food was very well presented, of good quality and cooked to perfection.
They also have a very good wine list and even better choice of malt whisky to warm you on a cold winters evening.
If you are in the area I would highly recommend you try this restaurant, we will certainly be going back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, interesting surroundings”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was a cold and rainy evening (typical weather) when I walked into the warm and cosy Glass House. It is (for me, at least) interesting in that it is an old mill that has been converted into a restaurant. I also found the idea of generally tall, well built waiters dressed smart casual quite interesting. Though some may find it intimidating as they do not smile much, though they are courteous. The food was great, served steaming hot, and yes, the meat fell off the bone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reevutho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely meal again at The Glass House..... The risotto starter is superb and I enjoyed an excellent steak. My only criticism would be that the menu rarely changes. Perhaps they should offer a couple of "specials" to offer a little variety. But the meal was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass House also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing