We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunshine in the Lakes”
other travelers have booked this property
Coach House Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coach House Kitchen
Coach House Entrance Coach House Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Coach House Kitchen
Coach House Entrance
Coach House Lounge
Master Bedroom Mirror
Master King Bed
Lounge Lighting
Master Bedroom Ceiling Fan
Cottage front
Coach House View
Bedroom 2
Bathroom Shower
Bathroom Vanity
Brunch
Afternoon Tea
For That Special Occasion
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moat14
2 reviews
“Sunshine in the Lakes”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

A splendid little cottage with everything you need for a stay on the Lakes. It could not be better placed for all thé possible attractions of thé area whether travelling by car or bus. Plenty of restaurants, shops and pubs within easy reach and a Tesco Express on hand. Mind the parking in the drive.It needs care if number2 is occupied. The twinned room gets light very early because of the fanlight. However none of this detracts from the excellence of the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2018
Thanks so much for your feedback, we loved having you as a guest and thank you for taking the time to rate our lovely little place.
The fanlight has a shutter which we hope you will find next time you come to stay. You had wonderful weather which is an added bonus to what is such a fabulous part of the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2018
Thanks so much for your excellent review, we were pleased to have you stay with us and would welcome you again in the future.
Kindest wishes
Anita & Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carle4
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful time in Ambleside and really lucked out picking this beautiful cottage. The decor was very modern and fresh. A real home from home - I could have quite easily moved in. The location is perfect also. Bang in the middle of the village. Road noise didn't bother us at all. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Hi, glad you enjoyed our 'creature comfortable' cottage, it is very central as you say, so easy for shopping and eating out, hope you can return another time. It was great to have you stay.

Kindest regards
Anita & Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern, cosy cottage”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a perfect cottage! All very modern with all of the equipment & utensils you could possibly need. Located very close to the centre of Ambleside and close to the beginning of lots of walks. Absolutely loved the wet room .... wish we could have one at home! The chocolates & wine left were a lovely touch. Thanks to Pete & Anita for such a wonderful property.

We are booked to go back next year - can’t wait!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2017
Thankyou for taking time to review our cottage and what a absolute pleasure it was to read, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return next year.

Kindest regards
Anita & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Thankyou, it was a pleasure to have you stay at our cottage and so pleased you found it very accommodating. Hope to welcome you all back another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JC6475
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful decor but damp and deafening”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This place has been beautifully put together as the other reviewers have said and everything you could need is supplied. There are a couple of points to note which may be helpful to other travellers. Firstly, this is not a place for someone who is sensitive to noise or a light sleeper. The main road goes right past the window and even with the window closed, it is loud! I defy anyone to sleep with the window open but that is the only source of ventilation. The back bedroom has no ventilation. Also worth noting that the bathroom is a wet room which the older generation struggle with and it had a tendency to flood the hallway too.
The location is excellent for access to the lake and ambleside, with good restaurants all nearby.
We had a fab week with great weather and thoroughly enjoyed the interior lights changing whenever we used the TV remote control.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
Hi there Jim,
We made a wet room to avoid guests having to step in and out of baths to shower, yes sometimes it takes a little of getting used to, hope you can return and enjoy our cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L
1 review
“A well fitted out charming cottage in very convenient Ambleside location.”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We liked the fact that shops and restaurants were in easy walking distance. We enjoyed walking up Loughrigg Fell from our front door. The cottage has been lovingly renovated and has everything we needed for our stay. I'd recommend without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us Linda and we thank you for your very 'true' description of our little cottage. Hope you can return another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing