We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage in centre of Ambleside”
other travelers have booked this property
Coach House Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coach House Kitchen
Coach House Entrance Coach House Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Coach House Kitchen
Coach House Entrance
Coach House Lounge
Master Bedroom Mirror
Master King Bed
Lounge Lighting
Master Bedroom Ceiling Fan
Cottage front
Coach House View
Bedroom 2
Bathroom Shower
Bathroom Vanity
Brunch
Afternoon Tea
For That Special Occasion
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cracknell...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in centre of Ambleside”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautifully set out cottage with much thought given to design. Excellent position in the centre of Ambleside. Quality equipment and fittings. Well equipped and very comfy beds. Appreciated the welcome gifts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and style
Liked least: Car parking a bit tight but not a problem
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
It's a pleasure to read reviews such as this, thankyou, much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael e
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My third time of booking this property and thoroughly enjoyed my stay once again.The cottage is finished to a high standard and is ideally located for exploring the Lake District and Ambleside has great pubs and resteraunts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thankyou for your kind comments, we love the close proximity to the village, no need for the car for bars, restaurants and the fells all within walking distance along with spectacular views from every window!

Kindest tegards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andymilla...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Cosy property with some lovely features. Although right on a main road, was not too noisy. Great location for the town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and uniqueness of the property
Liked least: Close to road. Difficult to safely reverse car onto/from the parking space
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2016
Thankyou so much, it is very cosy after a long days walking, great location for all the fabulous restaurants and shops, no need for the car!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterspea...
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anita and Peter really know how to do "Holiday Cottages"”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just home from a wonderful week in the Lakes. Have stayed in self catering cottages 2/3 times a year for the last 20 Odd years. Most will understand when I sum this one up with the statement ' If OLD COACH HOUSE MADE BEER IT WOULD PROBABLY BE THE BEST BEER IN THE WORLD ' fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is so comfortable and classy without pretention
Liked least: Going out it was so worth staying in.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Hi, thank you, that is the best description of our cottage yet! We couldn't have done any better, so glad you enjoyed our fab little place.
Anita & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoAndyGo
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Quality accommodation! After a few years camping we decided to go back under a solid roof and The Old Coach House didn't disappoint! We are a family with two boys 11 & 14 and found the cottage and it's location to be perfect. The cottage is finished to an extremely high standard and the layout and facilities are excellent. Everything a family such as ours would need and more. The location within Ambleside and the Lake District in general is great; everything is within easy reach.
Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Hi, Thankyou for your kind comments and glad that your young ones enjoyed it too. We wanted to create a luxury feel which is what we would like to receive if we were booking a cottage, I reckon we did a fairly good job from the response we are getting from all our guests. We love the area and of course the convenient locality of our Old Coach House, not too far to walk to the great restaurants Ambleside has to offer. We hope very much to see you again.
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We came here with our recently widowed friend and have had a lovely week. The whole cottage has been so well done We cannot find any fault with it. The attention to detail is amazing and the whole is very well put together. We have had a wonderful week and would thoroughly recommend this lovely holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and general presentation
Liked least: No recycling
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Thankyou for your kind comments, we love our cottage and so glad you did too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Carl M
1 review
“1 old coach house ambleside”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Property was exactly as advertised and amenities in general were excellent.
Would like to have seen a few more mugs for tea and coffee.
Property was extremely clean and well equipped, apart from comment above.
I would definitely recommend the property to others. Good location, within easy reach of shops and locally wonderful scenery and fresh air.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and general amenities available in the property
Liked least: being next to main road - traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2015
Thankyou, your kind comments are valuable to us, we welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing