We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would definitely recommend!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Clare Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tasha P
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We just got back from our trip on Monday, Really sad to be home! The cottage was absolutely love9ly, definitely exceeded our expectations and in such a great location!

The cottage itself is a lot bigger than it looked on the pictures, The living room is really spacious and the log fire makes it super cosy! The kitchen is really nice and well equipped, it had everything we needed and was great to cook in.
The bedrooms are all a really decent size with nice comfy beds Every room has a view of the mountains which I had no idea about before coming, especially at this time of year it looks amazing with all the snow.

The bathrooms were also really nice, the bath in the main bathroom is great! It's a lot bigger than I expected, I hadn't really taken much notice on the pics beforehand so this was a lovely surprise. The shower was really good as well and the underfloor heating is such a great touch.

The location of the cottage is more than ideal, especially as we didn't have a car. The shops and restaurants are just behind the house, literally a 1 min walk and the lake is only a 5 min walk. The peaks you can see from the windows are no more than a 10 min walk to the bottom, I would definitely recommend walking to Red Screes, the walk up the peak and the views are absolutely amazing.

Everything was really clean at the cottage and Jacqui and her cleaner Michelle were really helpful and there if you needed anything, definitely couldn't have asked for anything more. Would 100% recommend this to anyone taking a trip to the Lakes, really can't fault a thing. We loved it that much were already thinking about booking again!

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2018
What a lovely review. Thanks so much for taking the time to write it and I’m so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Look forward to hosting your return trip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naestved, Denmark
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gemma c
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent central cottage”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Another excellent stay at Clare cottage.
This is our second stay at Clare cottage . It is perfectly located in the centre of ambleside.
The house is so cosy and modern . Lovely and clean well equiped.
No faults at all.
Looking forward to our next stay

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile442...
1 review
“Perfect accommodation in Ambleside”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed long weekend at beginning of June. House is beautifully renovated , well equipped and centrally located in a quiet Road in Ambleside. You can walk out of your door to beautiful walks. Perfect , just wish we stayed longer.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciaw...
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home.lovely complimentary bottle and biscuits.all amenities in town.”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was very pleased with cottage.lovely places to eat just a walk away.beds are comfortable,rooms all nicely decorated.all in all a lovely place to stay.would definitely go back.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Clare cottage is a brilliant cottage. Beautiful decor and really clean. It was perfect for our 2 families to meet up and was bigger than we were expecting .
Everything we needed was there. The location is excellent.
Lots of great pubs and restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends.
Thanks for having us!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2017
Thanks for staying! And thanks for your lovely review. Hope to welcome you back soon. Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olwen W
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect placed cottage”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It was like stepping into the "Tardis" it looks so small outside, but once you open that front door whaaaa! The place just opens up and goes on and on, and up and up.
It is just so lovely inside and so well set out and equipped with everything you could possibly need. It was lovely and clean and welcoming, very tastefully decorated, a real home from home. It is ideally situated right in the middle of all the amenities, you don't have to walk far for whatever you may need.
Would certainly love to visit again, and thank you for the bottle!!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
What a lovely review, many thanks for taking the time to write one, much appreciated. Jacquu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing