We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for a short break”
Review of The Log House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Log House
Ranked #51 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Log House a couple of times and have found it to be very handy for both Ambleside village and also for the great Log House restaurant (our favourite restaurant in Ambleside). The rooms are small but clean - the 3 rooms are in the roof of the restaurant so are not big on space, but are nice and cosy to come back to after a day out and about. This place is good for short breaks. The owners are friendly and the breakfast is great (choice of either cornflakes or a big fry up). Great for couples or a solo traveller as a base to explore Ambleside.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo5434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

After booking the Log House as a unique place to stay in Ambleside i looked on Tripadvisor. There were a few reviews which were quite worrying but all others which were very complimentary. Deciding to see for myself - we found it really nice, great warm reception, very nice and helpful staff, querky room small but very clean warm and contemporary, exactly as it showed in the pics. We decide to have the evening meal which was very good value and we really enjoyed it. The breakfast was perfect every thing you could wish for...The resturant staff were brilliant both evening and at breakfast. It was very handy for Hays and the town Centre, we didn't use our car all the time we were there. The earlier guy who complained about everything !! did make me think twice about booking but I'm glad I went with my instincts and positive comments from the other excellent reviews. I will definitey go back again and reccommend it to others. We even had use of Langdale leisure facility which is brilliant. All10/10

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shedonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent a night at the log house in Ambleside dispite the horrible weather this b/b is one to stay at having only 3 rooms its cosy
We stayed in the back room which overlooked the hills very nice the bed was a dream very comfy well maintained room and facilaties.
Breakfast was as little or as much as you wanted to eat
We also ate in there restaurant excellent food good selection all prepared to order
The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us
In all one to visit wether it be for a meal or to stay.

Room Tip: Only three rooms all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNIE4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just had a 2 night weekend stay at the Log House. We were welocomed by the owner and chef Heath with complimentory frothy coffee! This was our second visit to this hotel and yet again we had a fabulous stay. The rooms are large with big beds and crisp linen and fluffy towels, lots of tea and coffee, hairdryer etc.

We ate in the hotels restaurant where Heaths wife Nicola works, very lovely lady who loves to chat and see to your every need. The food is excellent as is the wine menu, one of the best restaurants in Ambleside.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 1 and 2 both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only and we found it to be a great experience. There are only three rooms so we received personal service. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful but not in an overbearing way. Although compact, the room had everything needed, including a hairdryer, DVD player and lovely views in two directions.
Both the evening meal and breakfast were superb. We will definitely eat here again next time we are in the area.
The one negative point was that the shower was in the bedroom and separate to the toilet/sink, however this is a minor inconvenience on a short break and because of the geography of the room it is the only solution.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and i have been eating at the Log house for over 10 years and have never had a cause to complain, so when visiting Ambleside last week we chose to book a room there for a few nights with my comment to the OH being "At least we'll get a good breakfast"......... or maybe NOT. As they only have 3 rooms that gives a maximum of 6 guests to cater for so the food will be freshly cooked, hot and tasty wih everything available, NO ! The bacon was rock hard, having been previously cooked then re-heated, sausages boiled then flash heated. Although on the menu, no yoguts or pastries available till i asked why not, both appeared next morning. Bedrooms very small NO hanging space apart from a row of coat hooks, two bedside cabinets NO futher draw space.Dusty corners and light fittings and a really dirty towel YUK. I cannot say how disappointed we both are, i'm so sorry we chose to stay there as it has completely changed my view of the place and i doubt we will return to dine. Positives, the very friendly and helpfull breakfast waitress for whom nothing was too much trouble, big comfy beds, good location.

Room Tip: Ask if they have one with storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Log1LakeDistrict, Owner at The Log House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear gill661

How very disappointing to read your review but at the same time unsurprising!

From the moment you booked to stay with us I knew we would have a difficult task to please you. A few days after making your reservation you contacted Booking.com from whom you made your booking through, informing them that since booking, we had ‘emailed’ you with a better rate and could your reservation be amended accordingly! Which is a total fabrication, as why would we email anyone who had a confirmed reservation to offer them a lower rate? In fact what you had done was copy our tariff page from our website which gives information on our break rates (which are subject to availability). They also asked on your behalf, if you could have a room upgrade or a free bottle of wine if we were not prepared to lower the rate. After this debacle we knew we were in for a rough ride!

I agree our rooms are not massive as we are primarily a historic log cabin which has been converted in its later years to offer accommodation. Whilst our rooms are compact compared to your average Travelodge, they are oozing character and charm and equipped with flatsceen TV’s, dvd players, ipod docking stations, hospitality trays, great showers and very comfortable beds not to mention free WiFi.

As for the housekeeping issues you mentioned in your review, you are correct we did have one light bulb out on the chandelier (this was mentioned in your Booking.com review), had you told us at the time, we would have changed the bulb immediately for you. As for the dirty towel – there was no dirty towel in your room to use.

I am very surprised you were disappointed with your breakfast, as many of our guests often comment on how good our breakfast is! Whilst you have left us a very negative review on this site and Booking.com’s own review site, the same day you posted your review, the guests who were staying in our other rooms during your stay, also reviewed us remarking how superb the food was!
Your husband even came down stairs to thank us for such a lovely breakfast so I am at a loss why you have written such a scathing review.

Each morning you came down for breakfast at 9.30am when we are about to stop serving breakfast, by that time the other guests had eaten, this is why there were no longer any yoghurts on the buffet table, as they had been consumed. Had you requested any yoghurts at any point we would have happily put some more out for you.

I am sorry there were no pastries available only croissants, as discussed with yourself we do buy these in, and our supplier was currently out of stock of the selection we normally serve. When you mentioned your disappointment to a member of staff, my husband made sure he went to the bakery at 6.30am the following morning to provide pastries at breakfast. I can happily inform you we are now fully stocked again with our chosen brand.

You mention you have eaten with us for over 10 years, which I find surprising as you never ate once with us during your stay.
I have to say I did have a little chuckle at your suggestion that we boil our sausages! I never knew you could, but I have to say I wouldn’t choose to eat one cooked this way! I can promise you we do not boil our sausages, they are cooked in the oven.

As for the bacon, like every hotel or B&B we par cook our sausage and bacon and once we have received the order we then finish cooking them in the oven for a further five minutes. If we cooked every rasher of bacon from scratch for each breakfast, guests would be waiting for at least 20 minutes for their breakfast.

It’s such a shame you didn’t enjoy your stay as your husband personally came back from the car before you left, to thank us for a lovely stay and remarked how much you had both enjoyed it!

I agree maybe we are not for you, but I hope you will continue to enjoy holidaying in the beautiful Lake District.

Kind regards

Nicola Calman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The evening meal was very nice and of a high standard, and the breakfast was hearty. The staff were helpful and there no problems using the gift experience voucher. Would recommend staying and eating here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
1.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#62 of 102 in Ambleside
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#18 of 102 in Ambleside
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Log House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log House

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Log House is a beautiful log cabin on the outskirts of Ambleside town centre and a moments walk from Lake Windermere. The building itself has been shipped over from Norway by renowned artist Alfred Heaton Cooper, and still has its original log beams. We have 3 bedrooms, a restaurant and bar area and downstairs we have a lovely cosey lounge for you to sit and relax in, reading books or playing board games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Log House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Log House Hotel Ambleside
The Log House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing