We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't hesitate to book it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Easedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Easedale Lodge
Ranked #3 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to book it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by sarah who was very friendly and welcoming. We had 2 rooms booked, room 1 and room 7. We stayed in room 1 which was a lovely light room on the 1st floor, most importantly for me it was clean! Very clean. Room 7 was a smaller room on the 3rd floor but still a really nice room. Breakfast was a good choice of food, presented well and always nice and hot. Sarah was always very friendly and on hand if you need any help with plans for the day. This is a lovely b&b, this was my first visit to the lakes and Ambleside is a bustling place with Easedale located ideally in the middle of it. Lake Windermere is a 15 min walk away, there are lots of lovely places to eat in Ambleside so it's a good place to stay. We were really lucky with the weather but I wouldn't hesitate in going again and returning to Easedale. Thanks for a great stay Sarah and Dave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vemula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    66
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
857
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This b&b is a must, definitely value for money. Wole experience was amazing. Location so central and Ambleside as a town was clean and well looked after. Plenty of restaurants, cafés and bistros and quaint little shops. Lots of hillwalking and trails to explore too.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdcurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great stay at the lodge - very welcoming and highly recommended. Our stay was followed by a couple of nights at 4* hotels in the lakes and none could match the levels of personal attention, cleanliness and genuine friendliness of Sarah and Dave at Easedale.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

If I was running a B&B I would model it on the Easedale Lodge. They have the hospitality formula right, I just hope they don't burn themselves out with the amazing effort they put in, because we want to return.
Perfect location, great rooms, spotlessly clean, brilliant breakfast catering for all diets and tastes, excellent WiFi, comprehensive tourist information and wonderfully friendly and helpful hosts. I think that covers it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at this beautiful B&B. Sarah and Dave were very welcoming , as always. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was immaculate and breakfast is always great , plenty of choice and enough to set you up for the day,
Very central location for walk to the lakeside or one of many decent restaurants.
Thanks for making our stay special on our anniversary

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diydankez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have just returned from our latest 5 day stay at Easedale Lodge. Once again Sarah and Dave made our holiday a truly memorable one.(This latest trip must be our sixth or seventh break there.) The warmest of welcomes is always waiting and the hosts seem to have perfected the art of making you feel "at home" immediately.
The high standards of cleanliness and comfort have been maintained, and possibly improved in recent times but it's the attention to detail that sets Easedale apart from the rest and that give it an individual "atmosphere".
We have spent several holidays at other hotels and guest houses in Lakeland but none have the appeal of Easedale. I might add here that my wife and I have also stayed in virtually every room so we feel our opinions are valid. Whether you choose a cosy double or a deluxe room, front, side or rear of the house, you'll be assured of excellence throughout.
Perfect location, on-site parking and the best breakfasts in Lakeland! A clear winner!
Dave and Sarah are relatively new to the industry but it's abundantly clear that their efforts to maintain the high standards at Easedale are proving very successful. We're already planning next year's visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The main reason I chose Easedale Lodge on my recent trip to Ambleside was because of it's very high ranking on tripadvisor and having stayed there now I can say that's a ranking that is thoroughly deserved. In an ideal location bang in the middle of Ambleside, the rooms are extremely comfortable with lots of bespoke touches and wonderfully welcoming and friendly hosts in Sarah and Dave - I'd absolutely recommend Easedale Lodge for anyone travelling to Ambleside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easedale Lodge

Property: Easedale Lodge
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easedale Lodge, Ambleside - Heart of the Lake District."A wonderful place to stay with lovely rooms, a great breakfast, ample free off street parking, a convenient central location with fantastic fell and village views and friendly hosts" Settle in – Easedale Lodge is a charming, Victorian Lakeland stone house that retains many original features including solid oak doors and Lakeland slate tops to furniture. The entrance hall has the original Victorian floor tiles and stained glass which is an exact copy of glasswork by Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott (1865 – 1900). The lounge has a beautiful marble fireplace and the decor throughout the lodge compliments this centrally located and welcoming home from home.Sleep well – Easedale Lodge has beautifully appointed double bedrooms, with great fell and village views, each bedroom has individual decor to suit all tastes, with comfy beds and sumptuous soft furnishings. The hospitality trays are well stocked with both local and Fair Trade products. Each bedroom has a digital television, hairdryer and radio alarm clock. The pristine shower rooms have powerful showers, soft towels and biodegradable products made locally by Pure Lakes.Eat well – Easedale Lodge has an elegant dining room with a full English or Vegetarian breakfast cooked to order, with a good selection of cereals, seeds, fruits, yoghurts and juices plus a range of speciality hot drinks all (where possible) sourced locally.Tariff & specials – Easedale Lodge has reduced rates for stays of two nights or more on weekdays. The tariff ranges from £ 34 - £60 per person, per night for bed and breakfast which varies according to room choice and season, ample free off street parking is always available as is unlimited free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Easedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easedale Hotel Ambleside
Easedale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing