We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Easedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Easedale Lodge
Ranked #3 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our first stay in the beautifully appointed Easedale Lodge. We had a warm and friendly welcome and a parking space. The room and bathroom were spotless and very comfortable. In addition to a very tasty and satisfying breakfast, Dave and Sarah gave some good advice and recommendations for fell walking which was the main purpose of our stay. We used some of the routes which were provided in a very useful "information" cupboard. There was even a "forgotten something" drawer containing things you might have omitted to pack. They seem to have thought of everything. Our hosts were also very knowledgeable about the local area and suggested days out when we needed ideas. We didn't want to leave and booked two extra nights. Couldn't fault anything. Perfect stay, perfect hosts!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    66
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
857
61
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I (aged 27 and 30) visited Easedale Lodge for a mid-week break last week. The room and bathroom were spotless, with everything you would require (including delicious biscuits, which I am now trying to track down! Plus lovely toiletries. Easedale Lodge is situated in the heart of Ambleside, (with off road parking), which is great because Ambleside is a fantastic buzzing little town with great restaurants, pubs and plenty to do and its only a short 10 minute walk to the top of Lake Windermere. Breakfast was really nice and catered for my vegetarian needs as well as providing an excellent generous full English for my husband. Toast and coffee were plentiful! Sarah and Dave were great hosts offering advice on what to do, which we followed and went on the walkers ticket round the lake (great value for money and lasts all day). Overall would highly recommend staying here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raynor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our third stay at Easedale Lodge over extended weekend periods. All always, Sarah & Dave great hosts - very warm welcome on arrival and extremely hospitable throughout. Nothing is too much trouble. Room was beautiful, very clean and tidy, and well-equipped. Breakfast A1; Excellent all round. Off road parking a big plus. Location within easy reach of all amenities in Ambleside. Great stay and wonderful experience - we'll definitely be coming back.
Thanks Gerry & Michelle.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryMartin317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We made a last minute decision to go to Ambleside for the night. We had a lovely stay with a great room and breakfast. Excellent hosts as the other reviews say. Only slight downside was traffic noise but that was to be expected due to location. Also as I suffer with a bad back the bed was a little soft for my liking, my husband however had no problems sleeping!

Room Tip: Great views of park from rooms at front but traffic can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanashLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We throughly enjoyed our overnight stay at at this excellent Bed and Breakfast. The room was spotlessly clean and very well equiped. The thoughful little extra touches in the room, lounge and at breakfast were much appreciated.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmccabe873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sarah & Dave gave us a wonderful warm welcome, the room was beautiful and the breakfast was AMAZING. Ambleside has so much to offer and it is very close to Lake Windermere, great location. We stayed in the Cosy Double, very nice view of Wansfell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceysmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a gem of a find . After searching for ages looking for a B&B in Ambleside I knew I'd struck gold when I found Easedale Lodge. The Accomodation is spotless and with very modern touches and the hosts Sarah & Dave are second to non . The weather was perfect while we were there and the area is stunning . Thankyou for being perfect hosts and we will definitely see you soon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAtton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easedale Lodge

Property: Easedale Lodge
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easedale Lodge, Ambleside - Heart of the Lake District."A wonderful place to stay with lovely rooms, a great breakfast, ample free off street parking, a convenient central location with fantastic fell and village views and friendly hosts" Settle in – Easedale Lodge is a charming, Victorian Lakeland stone house that retains many original features including solid oak doors and Lakeland slate tops to furniture. The entrance hall has the original Victorian floor tiles and stained glass which is an exact copy of glasswork by Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott (1865 – 1900). The lounge has a beautiful marble fireplace and the decor throughout the lodge compliments this centrally located and welcoming home from home.Sleep well – Easedale Lodge has beautifully appointed double bedrooms, with great fell and village views, each bedroom has individual decor to suit all tastes, with comfy beds and sumptuous soft furnishings. The hospitality trays are well stocked with both local and Fair Trade products. Each bedroom has a digital television, hairdryer and radio alarm clock. The pristine shower rooms have powerful showers, soft towels and biodegradable products made locally by Pure Lakes.Eat well – Easedale Lodge has an elegant dining room with a full English or Vegetarian breakfast cooked to order, with a good selection of cereals, seeds, fruits, yoghurts and juices plus a range of speciality hot drinks all (where possible) sourced locally.Tariff & specials – Easedale Lodge has reduced rates for stays of two nights or more on weekdays. The tariff ranges from £ 34 - £60 per person, per night for bed and breakfast which varies according to room choice and season, ample free off street parking is always available as is unlimited free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Easedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easedale Hotel Ambleside
Easedale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing