We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Easedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Easedale Lodge
Ranked #5 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've stayed at Easedale several times over the last ten years and always vow to return. There is, quite simply, no better guest house in the whole of Lakeland. Since they took over just over a year ago, Sarah and Dave have ensured the continued success of this top class lodge.
We have always stayed with friends and last year invited another couple who wanted to come and see for themselves what "all the fuss was about". Needless to say they returned with us this year and I'm 100% certain we'll all be returning next year. Sarah and Dave go out of their way to make everyone totally at home. All the rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is a wonderful experience from the the home-made muesli to the full english which really is to "die for".
Easedale is perfectly placed for anyone visiting the Lakes. All the best restaurants in Ambleside are within walking distance and you're centrally placed for trips to favourite walks and beauty spots. Private off-road car parking makes life much easier as well.
It's worth adding here that we have tried other accommodation over the years we've spent visiting the Lakes but nothing comes close to Easedale and we remain huge fans.Sarah & Dave are first class hosts continuing the very best traditions of a really wonderful guest house. Thanks again for a great holiday! See you next year. D & A Hull, E. Yorks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Easdale Lodge for one night last week as the weather in the Lakes was just too perfect to miss. We hadn't stayed for a few years (in fact we missed one owner completely) but were delighted to find find that Sarah and Dave are maintaining the very high standards yet the informal touch that we have always associated with this smashing guest house.

Our room was very comfortable with a separate but exclusive bathroom, just across the hall. The views are probably the best from the house, offering a clear view of Wansfell (and very nice roofs in Ambleside).

Great value for money, a superb breakfast, a fantastic location, great hosts and it was sunny - sounds like we will be heading back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Easedale Lodge for a weekend with my Dad and son.
My son was there for the Great North Swim, so we booked early in the year, on the basis of the reviews.
I've got to say that I'd thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.
Dave and Sarah are fabulous hosts and despite being very busy, alway have time to offer advice or just have a friendly chat. The rooms are lovely and clean and the breakfasts are marvellous.
We found the location very convenient too - just a short walk from several really nice restaurants ( would recommend a visit to Atelier by the way ).
We'll definitely be back - thanks for a lovely stay !
Dave - Leeds

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delphine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We came to easdale during our honeymoon tour round the UK! (in fact we are still here now!) we were greeted by the very friendly Sarah, who welcomed us by our names! (very thoughtful and caring despite one ridiculous review on TA) she was very thorough and pointed us in the direction of lots of activities and dining experiences that Sarah thought would be ideal for us as a couple. All instructions about breakfast etc. were given in a formal manner (asif talking to a friend, we love that-who wouldn't?) we were left to do as we pleased, after venturing to our room we found that Sarah had upgraded us to a lovely spacious deluxe room overseeing the park at the front of the house and had also prepared some immaculate flowers as requested for my new wife. We are so grateful for this and it really topped off our honeymoon experience. The room was large with a seating area and lovely en suite with walk in shower. The breakfast was brilliant. Massive selection of cereals fruit yoghurt etc. and of course a cooked breakfast from salmon to a fry up. Also every morning Sarah would show genuine interest avout our plans for the day which again was nice. Although everything here was great from rooms to breakfast I think this place is truly made by Sarah and Dave (the only negative was that we never got to meet the other half to this fantastic couple) credit to them both and we will definatley be seeing you again in the future.

Thanks again
Jack and Sarah Berridge
Derby

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacknav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed two nights here when we were taking part in the Great North Swim 2013. We had looked at the reviews on trip advisor prior to booking and were very impressed. The excellent reviews were indeed justified. Sarah and Dave were the perfect hosts, and made us feel right at home, nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were spotless and the breakfast was excellent. All in all, excellent value for money. We would most definately recommend the Easdale Lodge to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked in for two nights and couldn't have wished for a better stay. Sarah does front of house and Dave floats around in the background unobtrusively making sure your needs are catered for. The house is clean, bright and furnished lovely. The rooms are a good size and spotless, we stayed in Room 1 at the rear, nice and quiet. Sarah and Dave have created a home from home, there are books and maps about the local area and their knowledge is great. Breakfast is suberb and nothing was too much trouble. Will definately stay here again and recommend it to friends. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The service from Sarah and Dave was excellent They gave me a guided tour of the establishment and showed me all the essentials as well as guiding me in what to see and do in the area.

I was in room 5. The room was superb and the bed was very comfortable. The room had great views of the fells to the north of Ambleside. It also had a big washbasin and digital TV. The private shower room was just across the landing and was also very nice. It also has off road private parking which is very useful. The breakfasts will set you up for the day.

The Lodge was in a central location in Ambleside with a short walk to all the shops and amenities. There was a good range of restaurants and take-aways close by

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 102 in Ambleside
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 102 in Ambleside
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 102 in Ambleside
320 reviews
1 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 102 in Ambleside
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easedale Lodge

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $106 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easedale Lodge, Ambleside - Heart of the Lake District."A wonderful place to stay with lovely rooms, a great breakfast, ample free off street parking, a convenient central location with fantastic fell and village views and friendly hosts" Settle in – Easedale Lodge is a charming, Victorian Lakeland stone house that retains many original features including solid oak doors and Lakeland slate tops to furniture. The entrance hall has the original Victorian floor tiles and stained glass which is an exact copy of glasswork by Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott (1865 – 1900). The lounge has a beautiful marble fireplace and the decor throughout the lodge compliments this centrally located and welcoming home from home.Sleep well – Easedale Lodge has beautifully appointed double bedrooms, with great fell and village views, each bedroom has individual decor to suit all tastes, with comfy beds and sumptuous soft furnishings. The hospitality trays are well stocked with both local and Fair Trade products. Each bedroom has a digital television, hairdryer and radio alarm clock. The pristine shower rooms have powerful showers, soft towels and biodegradable products made locally by Pure Lakes.Eat well – Easedale Lodge has an elegant dining room with a full English or Vegetarian breakfast cooked to order, with a good selection of cereals, seeds, fruits, yoghurts and juices plus a range of speciality hot drinks all (where possible) sourced locally.Tariff & specials – Easedale Lodge has reduced rates for stays of two nights or more on weekdays. The tariff ranges from £ 34 - £60 per person, per night for bed and breakfast which varies according to room choice and season, ample free off street parking is always available as is unlimited free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Easedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easedale Hotel Ambleside
Easedale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing