We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little b&b with fantastic hosts...”
Review of Easedale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Easedale Lodge
Ranked #5 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recently arranged a catch up with some friends whilst I was back in the UK for a while. Stayed at Easedale for two nights, cannot rate it higher.
Great location, cleanest hotel I have ever been in, super friendly hosts, most comfortable bed ever and a good breakfast.
Go for the mid range rooms as the size is good also, the cheaper rooms are pretty small.
Would go back again!

Room Tip: The 110 pound rooms are the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed with Sarah & David and the service was fantastic as were the rooms, we had their 2 best en-suite rooms and they were absolutely spotless, and probably some of the most comfortable beds there are in any Hotel, Tea & Coffee is in all rooms, the Bathrooms are very well appointed and there are plenty of toiletries on hand in each room,as were Hairdryers etc
You certainly wouldn't be allowed to leave there without a full stomach, the breakfast selection was excellent as was the standard of cooked breakfasts.
We will return, thanks once again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms, there is no noise from any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have just returned from a three night solo stay at Easedale Lodge, Ambleside. I arrived at 1230pm and asked if I could leave my car whilst I went for my first walk. I was given a really warm welcome, checked in and given the 'tour'. My room (4) was lovely and spotlessly clean. There was plenty of tea, coffee (regular & decaff) and hot chocolate with biscuits which were all replenished daily. The room had a flat screen tv and wi-fi, the ensuite was clean and modern with nice complimentary toiletries. Sarah really made me feel at home, was interested in my walking plans and gave excellent advice where to eat in Ambleside. My room had a dual aspect and looked out over Loughrigg. Breakfast was wonderful with an excellent selection. The Full English was lovely with quality ingredients and could be changed to suit your wishes. All in all an amazing bed and breakfast and I will certainly be returning. It is worth every penny, look no further.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at Easedale Lodge for four wonderful nights. I was a solo traveller and stayed in a deluxe, single room. Sarah and David made me feel very welcome throughout my stay; both were amazing hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The bed was extremely comfy with wonderful, crisp, white, cotton sheets and not to forget the soft, fluffy, whiter than white towels which were sheer luxury! I just can't fault this place. It was immaculately clean and filled with unique fixtures and fittings. The home made Granola at breakfast was to die for and the black puddings just perfect! I would definitely recommend this place if you are a solo traveller wishing to feel safe and relaxed. Both Sarah and David have that special magic as hosts to make your holiday that little bit extra special. Many thanks and I'll be back with my husband next time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev_sals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Apart from the slightly higher than average price there is very little if anything to find fault with this particular B & B.
From the warmth of the welcome, the standard of the accommodation and food and the all round treatment of guests the Easedale Lodge operates to the highest standard.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Brazilshirtwearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night break over the August bank holiday weekend. Sarah and David were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The B&B is centrally situated in Ambleside and offers easy access to all of Ambleside's amenities. There are several good walks that can be started from the B&B. Our room (room 7) was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The breakfast menu is varied and the food itself is of good quality and well cooked. Overall the accomodation is deserved of its 4* gold award and we would highly recommend the B&B and definately plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonVivuers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed with Sarah and David for two nights in Easedale Lodge. We had a very pleasant stay the guest house is comfortable with everything available you could ever need we were even supplied with a flask of tea for our walking trip. Sarah and David made the stay even more pleasant with their friendly, happy and welcoming attitude. The house is situated in a perfect position for access to the whole of Ambleside's attractions and right next to a lovely park with great amenities. We will be back soon hopefully.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were equally nice, beds very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 102 in Ambleside
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 102 in Ambleside
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 102 in Ambleside
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#6 of 102 in Ambleside
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easedale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easedale Lodge

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $119 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easedale Lodge, Ambleside - Heart of the Lake District."A wonderful place to stay with lovely rooms, a great breakfast, ample free off street parking, a convenient central location with fantastic fell and village views and friendly hosts" Settle in – Easedale Lodge is a charming, Victorian Lakeland stone house that retains many original features including solid oak doors and Lakeland slate tops to furniture. The entrance hall has the original Victorian floor tiles and stained glass which is an exact copy of glasswork by Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott (1865 – 1900). The lounge has a beautiful marble fireplace and the decor throughout the lodge compliments this centrally located and welcoming home from home.Sleep well – Easedale Lodge has beautifully appointed double bedrooms, with great fell and village views, each bedroom has individual decor to suit all tastes, with comfy beds and sumptuous soft furnishings. The hospitality trays are well stocked with both local and Fair Trade products. Each bedroom has a digital television, hairdryer and radio alarm clock. The pristine shower rooms have powerful showers, soft towels and biodegradable products made locally by Pure Lakes.Eat well – Easedale Lodge has an elegant dining room with a full English or Vegetarian breakfast cooked to order, with a good selection of cereals, seeds, fruits, yoghurts and juices plus a range of speciality hot drinks all (where possible) sourced locally.Tariff & specials – Easedale Lodge has reduced rates for stays of two nights or more on weekdays. The tariff ranges from £ 34 - £60 per person, per night for bed and breakfast which varies according to room choice and season, ample free off street parking is always available as is unlimited free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Easedale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easedale Hotel Ambleside
Easedale Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing