We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended.”

Glenside Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #95 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Ambleside for a few days with friends, and found Glenside on the internet.
We thought this offered a suitable venue. We were not disappointed. We had a warm welcome and the accommodation and BIG breakfasts were fantastic. We can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed at Glenside for a week in August and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Ideally located, just a 10 minute walk to the centre of Ambleside which has a wide range of restaurants and bistro's. We would definitely recommend Dodds, the Italian restaurant and an absolute must is the Thai called Doi Intanon.
Gledside is delightful. We stayed in the Blue Room but had a nosey in all the rooms and they are all lovely and of a very high standard with personal touches that make all the difference.
Paula's breakfasts more than lived up to expectation and she is a wonderful host, always cheerful and more than happy to offer advice on walks, places to visit, and eat, etc. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritzy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocton Lincs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

This was a return visit for us to this lovely B&B,as we had visited Paula here last year.
The personal touches she makes,and nothing is too much trouble to make you feel very welcome. As for her breakfasts well they literally are an ALL DAY BREAKFAST.
Looking forward to returning to Glenside again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robjonlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C4YNY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I have just got back from a three night 'first ever' stay at Glenside. We went with our friends who like us have never previously been to the lakes. This was our first experiance of what people describe as a "Lovely" little Gem and I can 100% agree with each and every one of them. The rooms are wonderful, fantastic comfy beds with crisp white linen, everything is spotlessly clean (and I mean spotless!!!!). The whole place has a real old English cottage feel about it, all made that bit more authentic by the the warm and welcoming service provided by its owner Paula. She is the real heart of the place and makes you feel like a family member from the minute you walk in the door. Not only did she recommend some very managable walks for 4 very non walky people but she also guided us to the best Pub, Steakhouse, Italian and Thia eateries in town. Her breakfast is legendary - set in the most lovely cottage breakfast room and each plate is heaped up with a bounty of the most delicious local produce. The experiance had completely opened my eyes to B&B/Guest House accomodation and i'm not sure I can bring myself to pay the disproportionate rip off prices of staying in pompus, stuffy, faceless hotels ever again. Well done Paula and team and thank you for making our weekend so very memorable... Ian, Janet, Ralf & Donna xx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C4YNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We chose this B & B because of all the previous excellent reports about Glenside. All the reviewers are 100% accurate. It is truly a gem of a house. It is very quaint with lots of lovely bits and bobs to look at. Paula the hostess with the mostest is terrific!......she is very friendly, and does a fab breakfast. She advised us on where to go, places to eat and gave us books etc to take with us. We would highly recommend Glenside, and we'll hopefully be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I have visited Glenside 40 times now. I guess this says it all. It is an absolute perfect gem of a B and B and a real haven from the stresses of the outside world. There are 3 super rooms with 1 room also having a single room separate. I have stayed in all the rooms and love them all. They are all well-equiped with champagne fridges!!!, trinkets and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The pinnacle of the good things I can say about this B and B is the hostess, Paula. She is naturally the best hostess I have ever met. She manages this beautiful haven with pride and you can see that she just wants all her guests to have a good time - nothing is too much trouble for her. Her breakfasts are cooked fresh each morning and absolutely yummy. I love my visits to this B and B - you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CozCantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Excellent host (Paula), beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfasts, free parking, charming website, close to the amenities of Ambleside - in fact the bestest B & B in the world! So good in fact we've been visiting for the past eight years. Wherever we stay we compare to Glenside and Paula has yet to be surpassed! High commended - Thank you Paula!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlipaliNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
#81 of 103 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#40 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#63 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ferndale Lodge
Ferndale Lodge
#69 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Glenside Bed & Breakfast
Address: Glenside Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Glenside Bed & Breakfast Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing