We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We visited the white lion on 4th march after looking for somewhere for lunch and what a lovely suprise! Three courses for 8.95 and they were all great. Service was very quick and the staff were very polite and attentive. Brilliant start to our minimoon and would definitely go back, even just for the brownie!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahthompson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We popped in (or more correctly outside) for lunch on a lovely day in Ambleside. The hotel is in the Main Street through Ambleside and has seating outside. The menu carries a large range of food, everything for light bites to main meals and sweets. The hotel itself is large airy and pleasant. The bar carries a good variety of lagers, beers and spirits and when we payed it a visit carried a number of good quality real ales. As it was lunch we both decided to go for the pulled pork in baked potato, onion rings and chunky chips. The premises operate an order and pay at the bar system and the service is pleasant and courteous. Having ordered and collected drinks the food followed very quickly after. The presentation of the food was plain and simple, yet appetising and was very good. At under £20 for the two meals it was very good value and I would definitely go back again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Valo2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat, we found the White Lion in the centre of Ambleside and decided to give it a try
There was a limited set menu so we had the two course meal at £9.95, one starter, two mains and one dessert.
The Brie starter was very nice and came with a barbecue sauce and a bit of salad. For the main course, we had salmon, mixed green veg & new potatoes together with a prawn chowder dressing on the side and then ended up sharing an Eton Mess for dessert.
The food was served up promptly by a very pleasant waitress who asked us a couple of times if everything was ok. The pub wasn't busy but had a nice atmosphere about it.
There was plenty of choice on the wine list and also some good real ales on.
Would be very happy to eat here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1KK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just stopped off after walking and parked up on the "disc Scheme" which gives you an hour free. ( pick your disc up from pretty much any shop, no purchase needed). We ate of the light Bites menu 2 battered whiting, chips, Peas, Tartar sauce. under a tenner for 2 decent portions was excellent value for the lakes. A beer and (excellent) Coffee was a fiver so all good. We snagged a good day,, sunny but fresh and sat outside. Good value I think.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank phillholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a short break in Ambleside in June 13 and we used this pub a couple of times for food for a family of four inc 2 teenage boys with good appetites this was perfect - really good & friendly service plus great value bar meals & nice beer.

Will go back again this year

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gussygeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

As far as bars go in Ambleside this is probably the cheapest, have not eaten here so can't comment on the food. If you are looking for a nice pint in a nice atmosphere the white lion is well worth a visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Despite the mixed reviews we stopped for a bite to eat here. Cheap and cheerful. My line caught cod in beer batter was tasty and crispy. Not overly big though. My friends food was OK too.
Service friendly and pretty quick out with our meals.

Not the prettiest place to stop for a bite but nice overall and reasonably priced, especially if you go at a time when the meal deals are on.

It's a chain pub so as long as you don't set your expectations on a gastro pub you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Knight5188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Address: Market Place | The White Lion Hotel, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $90 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing