We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old style pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good old style pub”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a celebratory meal after some good news in the family and weren't disappointed! The overall feel/surrounds were nice and the staff reflected that with courteous and timely service. Our meals arrived on time with only one thing missed off the actual order much to their own disgust rather than ours! Great buzz in the pub from people other than ourselves having a good time, have been a few times and will definitely go again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    80
    29
    7
    40
See reviews for
61
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Server was short, my Cajun chicken ciabatta was dry and tasteless my salad was unwashed and had bugs on it, frozen chips and the cutlery had stains, ewe sat outside and our food and drinks were a wasp magnet! My cider had 3 very drunk wasps! Their antics in the drink was the best part of our visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank sheenaparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just stayed here with the family over the weekend and had an amazing time. The weather was pretty bad but we where looked after by the couple running the hotel , could not do enough for us , amazing breakfast and evening meal

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munkeybouyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We called here for lunch when in Ambleside. I had the Cajun chicken wraps and my wife the coujons and both meals were very nice. There were about 4 real ales on offer. The dtaf err welcoming and the service quick.
The meal with beer and a glass of wine was reasonably price at £17. Would definitely call back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sturushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay.On arrival key didnot fit our room and we got told housekeeper had walked out on the friday night and must have muddled all the keys up.On entering the room we had no bin for rubbish...we had a kettle;tea;coffee and milk but NO CUPS and 2 of the cartons of milk were out of date.
We had booked an en suite room however our bathroom although it was solely for our use was located at the end of the hall.
The next day we came back in and decided to have a drink in the bar only to find a member of staff ( a lady with glasses ) screaming at another member of staff...not good customer service and very uncomfortable for all the customers.
The final straw was on our last day we came down for breakfast only to find they had not set up the tables for ourselves or the other guests !!!!
Would stay here again if staffing problems were sorted out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unsureofdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I have just stayed in Ambleside this weekend(2nd aug) but couldn't stay here as it was fully booked. Went with husband and couple of friends and we always stay in white lion but had to stay elsewhere and we missed the lovely rooms friendly staff and fabulous breakfast!!! I don't understand how reviews are not always good but I think it's because most reviews are about people just visiting for food. I would recommend staying here as they make u welcome and u also get a parking space. Wished we had been able to stay this time!!! Place we were at wasn't anywhere near as good

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goerdietraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pub was 10 mins late opening & bar had not been stocked up from previous eveningt. Barman was obviously still half cut from previous night. Staff were f..ing & blinding at each other even though we had 3 small children with us. When the meal eventually arrived after approx 1 hour wait we were 1 childs meal short & barman accused my husband off not ordering it even though we had been charged for it!! Word off advise do not bother........we thought we had stumbled upon Faulty Towers!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 270SueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
481 reviews
2.1 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Address: Market Place | The White Lion Hotel, Ambleside LA22 9DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Lake District, this Cumbria lodge is ideal. Set in scenic Ambleside at the head of Windermere, England's biggest lake, it's easy to reach from the M6. Nearby Windermere Station is just a 15-minute drive away. From Ambleside, it's easy to explore Windermere's 26-mile long coastline on foot, by car or by bike. Discover the lake's great choice of water sports, or treat the family to a launch or steamer trip across its magnificent waters. Just an hour's spectacular drive away is Scaffel Pike - England's highest mountain and a beautiful, breathtaking hike. Also in easy reach are Stock Ghyll Force, an awesome 70-foot waterfall; and Hill Top - Beatrix Potter's 17th-century farmhouse and a time capsule of her life. On rainy days, head for mock-gothic Wray Castle - where kids can don fancy dress and live out their own fairy tales, or use huge foam blocks to build fantasy fortresses. After a long day outdoors, you'll love collapsing into one of the lodge's double, twin or family rooms, all with flatscreen TV and free WiFi. Refreshed and relaxed, come down* to our cosy pub and enjoy a well-earned tipple with some hearty, freshly cooked food. *Children are welcome to accompany parents or guardians eating in The White Lion's family dining area. Please note residents' parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing