We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Vale Country House
Ranked #31 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Just returned from a two night stay at the West Vale. Thoroughly enjoyed it!!! The hotel was immaculate and spotlessly clean. The setting was picture postcard perfect. The service was faultless and the hosts couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was very well presented, plentiful and a very enjoyable start to the day. What more can we say???
The day we arrived the owner Dee told us about a nice walk nearby which we later found out led us to Moss Eccles tarn, which was once owned and frequented by Beatrix Potter. We thought that was a great start to our time spent there.
We would definitely consider returning to West Vale in the future. My wife and I would both thoroughly recommend it for a short stay break,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    16
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
258
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I dont know how I stumbled onto the West Vale Country Hotel when trawling the internet for a place to stay in the Lakes, but I am so glad I did!! Lovely, quiet, beautifully appointed hotel. Great hosts who make you feel valued and welcome, wonderful suite with beautiful bathroom and a lovely cooked breakfast every morning! I highly recommend the Black Pudding by the way!! Yummm!
Enchanting place to stay, the surrounding area is quite lovely and somewhere I'd not been to before in the Lakes! and with 3 good pubs/hotels nearby serving great food and excellent beer!..... Cant wait to return next year!
It may seem pricy compared to some other hotels, but I felt it was worth every penny!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

At short notice we booked a room at the West Vale for the first weekend this August. Travelling from York after work we arrived at 8.30 in the evening to be welcomed by Mr Pennington who was waiting to greet us. We were immediately upgraded to the Junior Suite on the top floor. A beautiful room with a stunning view looking towards Coniston Old Man and Near Sawrey. The bathroom was large and totally refurbished - no expense spared. Lovely to have a proper sized bath to wallow in after a hard days walking. Very comfortable king size bed. Sherry was provided and fruit - a nice touch. Nothing had been overlooked to make us feel welcome.
Breakfast was delicious with an excellent side table and a full english cooked breakfast of a sensible sized portion. The toast and croissant came in a basket neatly wrapped in a serviette to keep it warm. Great idea.
For dinner we ate at the Queen's Head Hawkshead which we had booked earlier in the week. Booking is a must in the high season. Excellent meal for such a popular Inn.
The West Vale is in the more gentler part of the Lakes surrounded by lovely countryside and some stunning walks in and around Claife Heights and Near Sawrey. Having stayed in this part of The Lakes many times we could not fault the West Vale and the efforts made by Mr and Mrs Pennington. This Guest House is a little gem and a must for serious Lakes lovers who want that little bit more comfort. Thank you for a lovely weekend - we shall be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fewclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of August for 4 nights shortly after our wedding and it was all we were hoping for. The guest house is in a beautiful peaceful spot and both Dee and Glyn (the owners) were the perfect, attentive hosts. Our room was lovely. Small but perfectly formed and was very clean as was the well appointed bathroom. Our bathroom only had a shower but this was fine for us. The hotel has won awards for its breakfasts and you can see why. I'm no cooked breakfast fan usually but I had something hot every day - excellent! The Tower Bank Arms (10 minutes walk away) is fab with excellent food and local beer. Hawkshead (10 minute drive) is a lovely village and there are some nice pubs there too.
We would definately recommend this hotel and would book again in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdwilliams007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's in a remote area - which suited us perfectly as it's lovely and quiet and unspoilt- yet it's only 10 mins away from Windermere in the car (or you can go across the ferry on foot and walk as we did which was lovely).

When we arrived, the guest house was very quiet so the proprieters upgraded our room for us - which was lovely.

The room was very clean, comfortable and the ensuite was spotless. The rooms were cleaned every day and I couldn't fault them.

The breakfast selection was good and service was friendly and welcoming.

The only slight downside is that we wanted to order a bottle of wine from room service one evening and when we rang the bell, no one was around. We tried a few times, then gave up. But apart from this small thing, the guest house and the service was excellent and I would most definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyh021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Meeting up with friends, we were looking for somewhere in the area but a little more salubrious than he hotel we had stayed in the previous year so it was a lovely surprise to find the West Vale which more than exceeded our expectations: the rooms are spotless with tasteful decor throughout and some very thoughtful touches; the breakfasts are a feast with a buffet that seems to include everything one could imagine as well as a large cooked meal and, of course, the setting is quite special. It was such a treat to be there that we decided to stay an extra night. Many thanks to our warm and welcoming hosts, Dee and Glynn.

We are looking forward to going back soon to taste the very tempting afternoon teas.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Just returned from an absolutely brilliant stay at the West Vale Country House hotel. Glyn and Dee the owners couldn't have been more helpful in the run up to the visit and were genuinely warm and friendly making you feel at home immediately. The accomodation itself is of a very high standard and the little touches around the place make all the difference. The afternoon tea we had and the breakfast were delicious and superbly prepared and presented and the location is second to none, easy to find and walking distance to the local pub but you really felt you were escaping from the hubbub of everyday life. We were up in the lakes on a trip to buy our wedding rings and the stay made the trip extra special, so much so we are hoping to return as part of our honeymoon! Thanks so much Dee and Glyn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bool78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
5.1 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
638 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
124 reviews
3.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
538 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rydal Lodge Hotel
Rydal Lodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Rydal
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Property: West Vale Country House
Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Vale Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing