We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Westvale Country House - room was lovely and breakfast was fabulous. Quite expensive but standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Vale Country House
Ranked #58 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Far Sawrey made a nice change and we enjoyed our stay, hosts were lovely.
Junior suite was nice too with good quality furniture and excellent bathroom facilities.

Would certainly recommend it.

Both pubs were good, 10 min walk or 2 min walk, food great and good added extra.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestFairone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 327 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited in September for our anniversary and stayed in a suite. The room was decorated to a high standard and the added feature of a sofa was a bonus on some very rainy days! The guest house is located a very short walk away from a lovely and welcoming pub. This was fantastic for us and we visited frequently during our stay. The owners Glynn and Dee were lovely hosts, there when needed but certainly not too intrusive. Breakfast was simply excellent. Thank you for the bottle of sparkling wine for our anniversary, it made our stay.

Room Tip: The suites provide extra space for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lis1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a beautiful stay which is a testament to the guesthouse as the weather was awful! Dee and Glynn were brilliant hosts and were very accommodating. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. The location was ideal as there are plenty of lovely walks on the doorstop. The two nearby pubs serve excellent food. We would highly recommend West Vale to anyone visiting the lake district. We plan to visit it again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisP734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our one night stay. Our room was well appointed with lots of nice touches, decanter of sherry, bathrobes & slippers. Breakfast was excellent. Dee & Glynn were great hosts. Lovely location, with the Cucoo Brow, and Tower Bank pubs a short walk away. We would be happy to recommend the West Vale for a lovely lake district break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Myself and my new husband came across this lovely guesthouse on our 'mini-moon'. Glynn was so friendly and accommodating - he even went to the trouble of putting a huge box of complimentary chocs in our room and putting love songs on the radio for when we arrived. It's those small touches that make things memorable and special.

The room was spacious but with a really cosy feel and the bed was really comfy. The bathroom was nice and modern with a lovely deep bath and Molton Brown bath goodies which I made full use of whilst sipping the complimentary sherry.

There was a great pub just a stumble up the road which is always a bonus.

Breakfast was superb as well - well cooked from quality local produce. Loved sitting by the window and watching the chickens peck around whilst eating in the very grand dining room. Dee's service was friendly and welcoming. Really can't fault this place at all. It was the perfect way to round off our mini-moon.

We hope to be back on anniversary's to come!

Room Tip: We had the suite at the top of the house - v. quiet and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_North_Speaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

What can I say , SUPERB , FANTASTIC , OUTSTANDING , we stayed here for four nights . Dee and Glynn are the most lovely hosts and nothing was to much trouble . Upon arrival our room was upgraded which was a lovely suprise . We stayed in room number 7 that is decorated and furnished to a high standard with a lovely en sweet and beautiful views of the surounding countryside . The breakfast was fantastic providing locally produced products to your table , of outstanding quality . The choice covered everybodies tastes from a full english to a buffet selection or if you desired something else from the breakfast menu , nothing was to much trouble .
The evening meal , dining at its best , beautiful food , cooked to perfection in wonderful surroundings what more could you ask for . And to top it off what better place to sit but in the lovely warm cosy lounge in front of the log fire sipping a brandy , bliss .
All in all what a beautiful , spotlessly clean , warm welcoming place to stay , four nights was not long enough , can't wait to return . Glen & Sue

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludders66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for one night in this lovely place. The rooms and breakfast were first class. Lovely hosts. Would recommend a stay and will most probably be back for a second visit. Had a lovely walk to Claiffe Heights and saw the most beautiful tarn. Would need a car for location.

Room Tip: Room number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
913 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
500 reviews
6.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Vale Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Vale Country House

Address: Far Sawrey, Ambleside LA22 0LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Hotel Class:4 star — West Vale Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Lake District National Park on the edge of the village of Far Sawrey you will find West Vale Country House an idyillic small retreat where you can escape and leave your cares behind This stunning location overlooks Grizedale Forest The Old Man of Coniston and the surrounding area is a pot-pourri of cultural historical and architectural gems as Beatrix Potters Cottage Brantwood Holker Hall Dove Cottage and Levens Hall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your West Vale Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Vale County Hotel
West Vale County Ambleside
West Vale Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing