We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakes Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakes Lodge
Ranked #16 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just got back from our second stay at Lakes Lodge and once again the experience was first rate. The staff are very friendly and helpful and would go out their way to make our stay enjoyable. The room was very comfortable with lovely views and the self service breakfast is a welcome change from the usual b & b breakfasts. This definitely wont be out last visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review, it's good to hear that you have stopped with us before and hopefully it won't be your last !!

We look foward to welcoming you back again.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    150
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
402
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

absolute value or money and definitely more than I could have imagined. Clean modern and very welcoming friendly atmosphere and the breakfast was an added bonus. Would recommend to anyone seeking a relaxing break away

Room Tip: number 16 was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
'Amazing' and five out of five it really doesn't get much better, thankyou, we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again when you visit Ambleside.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived just as the snow was beginning to settle, checked into our room swiftly with help from the girl on reception (very friendly). We had a twin room at the back of hotel room 6 on the 2nd floor, we had requested a twin room ( I have a back problem and can be a pain to sleep with!!) anyway it had two large double beds and was quite spacious and nicely furnished with lovely views to the side. On the first floor is an ice machine with ice buckets which we took advantage of and the girl on reception provided me with wine flutes. There are tea and coffee facilities and a small Tv in the room. Beds were very comfortable and room very warm although I did lower the heating in the end! Wash basin is in the bedroom which is a little odd but fine, bathroom had bath and shower, with lovely thick towels and toiletries.
Breakfast was great and we were asked if we would like anything that wasn't already out, service and staff excellent and all very pleasant and chatty. They also cleared the snow so we were able to get our car out! We would definitely stay here again next time we visit Ambleside as position we felt was ideal and the price very good. I was a little concerned before we went as it is a dog friendly Hotel/guesthouse and I don't really like dogs, however I was advised they are not allowed in the main building at anytime and this was true as they have allocated access to superior basement rooms from the car park. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us at Lakes Lodge and we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us, we look forward to you coming back to Ambleside again and visiting us at Lakes Lodge.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The overall standard of Lakes Lodge is excellent, our room was tastefully decorated, with a comfortable bed, very good shower and bath facilities and good quality soap/shower gel, also there are plenty of tea bags, coffee sachets and tasty biscuits which always available.

Now for the 'but' .... the self service breakfast is like a rugby scrum, the serving area is too small and the food is replenished in dribs and drabs meaning some of it is hot and some luke warm and not appealing to look at.

In my opinion this establishment would greatly benefit from a' freshly cooked to order breakfast system' which greatly improve the experience!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mudlark74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for a weekend and had great time, was disappointed with the b&b, not that anything was awful just that nothing was great and after reading the reviews on here I expected a bit more than basic.
The rooms are warm and not unclean but the furniture was tired & a bit grubby but the bathroom was well maintained and towels seemed quite new. The staff were lovely and helpful.
The biggest problem was breakfast which is a buffet and it just didn't work, we were there with 2 friends and there was never enough out on the hot plate for more than 2 people but then when some items were topped up they were cool by the time other items were put out. Also the bread on the Sunday was stale and all the ingredients were of a pretty poor quality, not what you'd expect from a highly rated Lake District b&b.
I wouldn't say don't stay here I just wouldn't recommend it as there are much better places at the same rate.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review as the feedback is so important, but in this instance we do have to disagree with you.
As you can see from previous reviews guests really enjoy their stay with us at Lakes Lodge including the buffet breakfast, as you have mentioned the staff are so friendly and obliging nothing is too much trouble and we believe on this occasion we did cook your food to order which you subsequently left.
We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of Lakes Lodge we are always cleaning and we have a constant maintenance and refurbishing plan to enable us to maintain our high standards.

Our highest priority is ensure everybody has an enjoyable and comfortable experience at Lakes Lodge but we do appreciate we cannot please everyone and we would just like to mention we are a non-smoking establishment!!

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A very enjoyable stay last week 3rd -7th Jan.The location of the hotel is perfect, very close and walkable distance for all our needs. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellant, well cooked and with a very good selection. The room was clean and comfortable.I would recommend this hotel friends and family, and will certainly be returning in April for more walking adventures.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great time at Lakes Lodge Guest House, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Remember keep an eye on our website for all our latest offers.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay, welcoming staff and very well equipped room. Our original room was slightly small and dark so we asked to change rooms and the staff we extremely obliging and moved us into another available room which we much appreciated. Buffet breakfast but very good selection and well cooked. Great bathroom, nice bath, but best of all was the location, stones throw from Ambleside centre.highy recommend for a extremely comfortable, convenient and enjoyable stay.

PS free bottle of wine on arrival was also a very nice touch!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It's great to get such good feedback we really appreciate the feedback and hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again.

Jason Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge

Property: Lakes Lodge
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakes Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes Lodge offers modern facilities usually found only in larger hotels but in a relaxed atmosphere, the best of both worlds! Unlike many smaller hotels the hotel is licensed and offer a wine and beer room service throughout the day. Ice and ice buckets are installed for your convenience and for you to help yourself to. The town house is just 200 metres away from the shops and other local amenities within the heart of Ambleside.All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and in addition to all modern facilities the hotel has installed DVD players in all rooms. A selection of films are available from reception. Family rooms consist of a double and a single bed.Start your day in the cafe-style buffet breakfast room where you can help yourself to continental and full english breakfast. This comprises of cereals, fruit, bread and fruit juice to name just a few items available. Throughout the day the coffee machine is on for you to help yourself to when returning from a day on the lake or walking in the fells.Lakes Lodge is situated only two minutes away from the centre of Ambleside with its shops, bars and restaurants, and a ten minute walk to Lake Windermere and the boating jetties.Just a short walk takes you to Waterhead Bay and the Lake Steamers which take you to Bowness and Lakeside with a chance to explore in greater detail. Ambleside is a perfect starting point for mountain biking, walking or just a complete break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Hotel Ambleside
Lakes Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing