We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Overnight Stay”
Review of Lakes Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakes Lodge
Ranked #19 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed overnight last night at this hotel. The staff were lovely and welcoming, the room was really big with 2 lovely comfy double beds. Great location. Will stay here again. (ate at the sister hotel the Regent - nice food and again superb staff and even got a 20% discount on the price for being resident of Lakes Lodges.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpongebobPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

"Lovely Overnight Stay” and you have given us 5 out 5 it doesn't get any better.

Thankyou for this brilliant review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 603 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

we stayed at Lakes Lodge for 2 nights on October 24th. This is ideally situated in Ambleside .So close to shops and restaurants that are all within walking distance. We had a lovely large room on the 1st floor which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had a good sized bathroom with everything we needed. Very comfortable beds. We faced the road but traffic noise didnt bother us or keep us awake. Breakfast was enjoyable although you have to serve yourself. The staff kept refilling the dishes and there was no wait for anything . We would definitely return here. Also private parking available which was a great advantage . Good value .

Room Tip: We were in room 3 and enjoyed our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks for your fantastic review, it's wonderful to get such positive feed back complimenting us about the location and good value for money.

Remember if you decide to visit again keep an eye on our website for the best available rates.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife booked this hotel with minimum supervision some time ago. We were warmly welcomed and even had some of our bags carried for us by the female owner/receptionist to the top floor. It was a case of volume of bags and not me being a total weakling...We stayed in room 10 and had a good view of the village and surrounding hillside. The room was spacious (approx 25sq/m), but, it had the basin in the bedroom, not a problem for us as we're not the perrennial moaners. The shower and toilet were compact, the width being the size of the shower unit. Although, i did take to the complimentary shower gel, i'm quite picky about things like that. The breakfast was a buffet style and more than acceptable for our requirements. The staff were very friendly and attentive, even offering to lend us maps. In the whole it was a good experience staying at this B&B.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter as the ground floor rooms will have people traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Lakes Lodge, Room 10 is a lovely room and very popular with great views out over the village towards Loughrigg.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Lakes Lodge for one night in October 2012, chosen on the basis of the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed.

We had room number 2 and it was of a great standard! The room was spacious and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was clean and the towels were to die for!

My only criticism was the decor of the reception/dining area. I am not a great fan of the colour pistachio, nor of bright mauve. The two together are probably my most hated combination. That and the cheap, uncomfortable chairs meant that what would have been a 5 star review has to have one knocked off, but to be honest it didn't spoil our trip and it would not deter us from going again.

The free car parking was an added bonus, although space is limited. The owner was kind enough to offer to let us leave our car there for the day we booked out so we didn't have to pay car parking fees. For that we were very grateful.

All in all a wonderful stay, within a few moments walk of Ambleside centre (so good I went out in heels)!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazeldinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

It's great to get a fantastic review like this and we are dleighted that you had a good time with us enjoying the room you were allocated and the convenient location to the centre of Ambleside and free parking!!

We look forward to maybe seeing you again.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in lakes lodge- the place was easy to find a has parking- if a little tight! Staff were really friendly and showed us to our room which was room 1. The room was nice not massive but a good size- the bathroom was huge and even had a radio- shower is brilliant- the only thing I would say about this room is that it is noisy! Every time someone comes in the main door you can hear them- you can hear breakfast being clocked and people going for breakfast. The window also rattles and throughout the night the pipes somewhere make a horrendous noise! There are a few bits that need a bit of a paint and the blind could do with a clean-. Breakfast is ok-I prefer to have my breakfast cooked for me but the buffet style works well for lakes lodge- the waiting staff constantly replenished food even up until and after 9.30pm- all in all lakes lodge is in a brilliant location good value for money, clean and staff and very friendly- I would stay again just not in room 1!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodylover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lakes Lodge if you visit again maybe speak to us direct and we can discuss with you the best room for your equirements.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had the top room with a lovely view to the hills around Ambleside. Bed was comfortable and room was quite large but it had an odd quirk (I imagine due to trying to modernise a room in what appears to an early 18th century building) in that the hand basin was in the bedroom not the ensuite. The ensuite itself was quite small which made showering for himself a little bit difficult with not much elbow room. Buffet breakfast was excellent and off street parking was available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denjudfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thankyou for this review, we appreciate your feedback, it is really good that you feel we are good value in the heart fo the Lake District . Hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future, remember keep an eye on our website for our best available rates.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in October. The deal they offered included an upgraded room and a bottle of wine. The larger rooms are actually on the lower ground floor so they have no real view, that said they are a really good size as is the bathroom. The bed was very large and comfy and the decor clean and fresh. The breakfast was served adjacent to reception on a self service basis. Plenty of things on offer. My husband thought it was a bit 'canteen' but I thought it was fine. Good value hotel that I would recommend.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a larger room even though they don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjhewitt, General Manager at Lakes Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback and it is great that you enjoyed your stay at Lakes Lodge Guest House. Our Superior basement rooms are proving to be really popular being spacious and modern with great facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Jason Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 102 in Ambleside
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Lodge

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $98 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakes Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakes Lodge offers modern facilities usually found only in larger hotels but in a relaxed atmosphere, the best of both worlds! Unlike many smaller hotels the hotel is licensed and offer a wine and beer room service throughout the day. Ice and ice buckets are installed for your convenience and for you to help yourself to. The town house is just 200 metres away from the shops and other local amenities within the heart of Ambleside.All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and in addition to all modern facilities the hotel has installed DVD players in all rooms. A selection of films are available from reception. Family rooms consist of a double and a single bed.Start your day in the cafe-style buffet breakfast room where you can help yourself to continental and full english breakfast. This comprises of cereals, fruit, bread and fruit juice to name just a few items available. Throughout the day the coffee machine is on for you to help yourself to when returning from a day on the lake or walking in the fells.Lakes Lodge is situated only two minutes away from the centre of Ambleside with its shops, bars and restaurants, and a ten minute walk to Lake Windermere and the boating jetties.Just a short walk takes you to Waterhead Bay and the Lake Steamers which take you to Bowness and Lakeside with a chance to explore in greater detail. Ambleside is a perfect starting point for mountain biking, walking or just a complete break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakes Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Hotel Ambleside
Lakes Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing