We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #11 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Another great weekend in the Lakes staying at Compston House. Comfortable rooms, hearty breakfasts and friendly hosts.
Fully recommend Compston House to anyone staying in Ambleside. We stayed in The Florida room which is lovely, bright and spacious. Free wifi Is useful. Ambleside has lots of good restaurants and great for exploring the Lakes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 948 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I have no hesitation in recommending Compston House to anyone. An excellent B&B with amazing food, warm and friendly hospitality, and warm, spotless rooms that are extremely comfortable. Jerry and Sue are lovely people and make you feel extremely welcome from the moment you arrive. We will definitely be going back to Compston House, so please, please keep those lovely pancakes on the menu!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamWorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the Hawaii room for two nights in October 2012. Our first visit to Ambleside and our first stay in Compston House. We found Compston House via Tripadvisor reviews, and thought it looked interesting enough for us to give it a go. We agree with previous reviews of how good this B&B is. Jerry and Sue are very welcoming and hospitable hosts. They can also recommend some top places to eat out in Ambleside (we were spoilt for choice - and that's coming from two people who live and work in London). The breakfasts were good and hearty (especially recommend the full American). We have never had such good pancakes, and the bacon from the local butcher was amazing. You will be encouraged to eat even more pancakes (I did), but do so at your peril - we rolled out of the B&B each morning. Our room was thoughtfully decorated in line with the 'Hawaiian' theme without being 'over the top' - and it had a great view over to the hills. The en-suite bathroom is on the small side, and a couple of minor issues with the bathroom were paper bathmats and the smell of bleach, but otherwise perfectly fine and with a lovely hot shower and very nice toiletries. Location-wise, this B&B is ideal - handy for walking into and around town (you don't need a car to get around Ambleside); or for just taking off into the countryside in the car or on foot. The B&B's car park is across the road (not available for every room, but it is available for Hawaii) and not on the B&B's grounds. This may not be ideal for all, but was very handy for us. We would happily stay at Compston House again if / when we return to Ambleside. We would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in Florida room, perfect spacious room. Great hosts and super breakfast. The pancakes are to die for.

No problem with parking, we were allocated a space in the car park round the corner. Lots of good walks around Ambleside, recommend Wansfell and Loughrigg.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garfield T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This B&B is fabulous, we had another great stay at Compston House, and thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. We have stayed in most of the rooms, they are all beautifully decorated and spotless, with all the facilities you could want. Sue and Jerry are great hosts, each guest is made very welcome, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are great with fruit, yogurts, cereal and full English or American, and the pancakes with maple syrup are to die for. Eat as much or as little as you want.
The majority of the reviews on Tripadvisor mirror our opinion, it is a fantastic place to stay and even though Ambleside is very busy and parking is difficult, Sue and Jerry provide you with a parking permit to use in the car parks, so you don't have to pay.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at the wonderful Compston House on many occasions and go back year after year. I always request either the New York or Maine rooms as they both have the most comfortable king sized beds. I love the decor and you can feel the love and attention to detail that has gone into every room. The rooms and bathrooms are always very clean and well stocked. The bathrooms are small which is to be expected in a period property of this type but are more than adequate, even for someone of a larger size, like myself.
Sue and Jerry are two of the most attentive and friendly hosts you could wish for and the breakfasts are legendary.
I will continue to stay here and will be back for my Birthday next year!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Room was appalling. Stayed in New York room, not quite sure how a few pictures of the New York skyline can constitute describing a room as "American styled". Breakfast was huge, which is perhaps typical of American hospitality, it is not however worth staying the night for in my opinion. Parking is very limited, so be warned, if you are particular about where you want to leave your car and a tiny public car park, out of view of the hotel is not my ideal, however the hosts want to spin it, then this hotel is not for you. The hosts are very friendly, I have to agree with that. The room I stayed in however was cheap and poorly equipped with a tiny galley bathroom (or corridor) which was far too small for one, let alone two. I have stayed in hotels, I have stayed in guest houses, b&b's, but this, whatever the hosts want to call it is poor. We couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Unclassified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Although over 96% of our TripAdvisor reviews rate us as excellent/very good, we're always disappointed when even one gues has not had a good experience, even if' it's only for a one night stay as with this reviewer. As many of our guests have either been on holiday in America, or would like to visit, they appreciate the little touches of ''Americana'' in the guest rooms and in the house. We're sorry this guest didn't understand/appreciate the decor.

We're not a hotel, just a little Bed and Breakfast in the centre of the wonderful little village of Ambleside. Our free parking permits have proved very popular with our guests, as they provide free parking for FOUR car parks in Ambleside, as well as numerous car parks throughout the South Lakes, including Windermere, Bowness, Grasmere, Kendal, etc...thus saving our guests quite a bit of money during their stay with us! Our three largest rooms have their own off-street parking space. Again, we're not a hotel, just a little Bed and Breakfast establishment, typical in size of B&B's in the area, but with an American twist!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 102 in Ambleside
1,212 reviews
0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 102 in Ambleside
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $106 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing