We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Ranked #9 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Return Stay”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Returned for another break to Ambleside and to stay with Sue and Jerry. We can only say if you stay at any other B&B in Ambleside you have missed out big style. Once again our stay was made enjoyable by Sue and Jerry and their beautiful home. I say home because that's how we are made to feel. At home. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast is out of this world and Jerry does his very best to get you to eat more. The choice for breakfast is superb.
Sue and Jerry go the extra mile to make your stay the most enjoyable it could possibly be.
I hope by writing this review there will still be vacancies for us to return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ED H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
714
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
449 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Situated in a good position close to all shops, restaurants etc. Dedicated parking is a plus so pick the right room (only applies to 3 rooms). We did not find the traffic from the road immediately outside to be a problem and hardly heard it. The room (Florida) was very comfortable and spotless, the only criticism was the tiny bathroom - far smaller than any we've found in other B&Bs. Obviously the breakfasts are one of the main selling points of this establishment and it's easy to see why. Any combination of a large selection of food can be had and most of it is cooked very well. The size and quantity of food can be somewhat overwhelming but just order only what you really want and you'll be ok. The hosts are very friendly and helpful with plenty of local knowledge & advice.
Recommended as a good choice of B&B in Ambleside.

Room Tip: We had the Florida room as it was the largest. Situated at top front of the house. Very nice room (l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compston, Owner at Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We're glad these guests enjoyed their stay with us! To clarify parking arrangements for Compston House guests.... ALL our double rooms come with free parking. The three largest rooms have their own off-street parking space; the other double rooms come with a permit to use the local car parks for free....not only car parks in Ambleside, but also in Windermere, Bowness, Grasmere, Kendal, etc. As for our award winning breakfast, you can have a full breakfast, any part of it, or any combination of what's on the breakfast menu. You don't have to order in advance...just tell Jerry what you'd like for breakfast each morning, and Sue will cook it up fresh for you......whether it's a full breakfast, pancakes with fresh fruit, or just scrambled eggs on toast. It's your choice....just let us know! Compston House is an 1890's merchant house, which has been converted into a nine bedroom guest house. All rooms are en-suite, vary in size, and are typical in size for a bed and breakfast establishment in the Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NJ
Level Contributor
227 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I recentlyI stayed at the Compston House for four days and totally enjoyed being there. This B&B is beautifully decorated and every room is cheerful, attractive and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious. The hosts Sue and Jerry certainly know how to make one feel comfortable and in addition to the wonderful food they provide excellent service to their guests. Additionally, they know their area well and provided us with detailed information on what's available in town, on tours, and in surrounding villages, all of which we found to be extremely appealing. We definitely recommend Compston House to those visiting the Lake District

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a hard work looking for B&B, I got to Compston House. Since my first info request till my check out, Sue and Jerry were simply fantastic. I'll never forget the moment I was stopped at the street corner, looking for the hotel address and Jerry waving from inside the house: Hey Paulo!!

Friendly environment, I felt like I was home. Hotel is very clean, rooms comfortable made and cleanness is not a problem. I use to travel a lot in Europe, and I can say that this the best place that I ever found.

Breakfast service and quality deserve for the Breakfast award. Plenty of options, you can have a full and delicious “food” upload your energy to start your journey. In the evening, the quiet house was the perfect place to relax and prepare your body and soul for the next day. I was sharing some info with other colleagues that were hosted in other places, and I got proud of Compston House, as I could conclude that services and food were far best compared to the others.

Thanks Sue and Jerry for you full support during my stay at your lovely "house".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in early October 2012 and we loved it. Our room was clean and quiet and cheerfully decorated with posters and photographs of American cities and landmarks. The abundant and delicious breakfasts were a great start to a day of hiking and sightseeing. The B&B's hosts Sue and Jerry were very friendly and always helpful, with terrific tips about local restaurants and the best places for hiking. We would definitely recommend Compston House to our friends. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpurtell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in October 2012 after booking the room through Compston House's website. Sue & Jerry were excellent hosts, being very attentive from our arrival to departure. The house was perfectly clean and comfortable and idealy located in the centre of Ambleside. Breakfasts were a real treat with several choices ranging from traditional english to american style including omlettes, franch toast and pancakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David5407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not one for writing long reviews, but just wanted to say thanks for our stay this summer. All good value, nice and clean and in a perfect location. Can recommend to anyone wishing to visit. The breakfast was sufficiently large and provided us with adequate energy for a long day in the mountains. Will be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B

Property: Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Bed And Breakfast
Ambleside American-Style Compston House Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside American-Style Compston House B&B Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing