We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Wanslea Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanslea Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just come back from a stay at the Wanslea, excellent room ( number 8 , four poster) was a good size, nice and cosy and very clean.

Will accept dogs which was a bonus.

Great location, only a few mins walk into town centre, owner was excellent, breakfast was also great.

Would certainly stay here again.

Austin Family

Room Tip: 8 four Poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    80
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
328
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I only stayed here for one night with a friend, and was pleasantly surprised.

I wasn't able to get in the car park, but luckily found a free spot just along the road outside. Otherwise it would have been £15 in the carpark next door!

We had a twin room at the back of the house, with lovely views of the gardens. It was very quiet and pleasant, and what we'd expected.

The breakfast was good, and the owner was very helpful with directions, etc.

The only thing that let it down slightly was that we thought we had paid online when we booked. Nothing in the paperwork indicated anything to the contrary. When we went to leave we were asked to pay, but the card reader in the b&b wasn't working. We hadn't brought any cash with us, so had to walk into the town centre whilst it was bucketing it down with rain to find a cash machine. Not ideal, and it did put a bit of a dampner on the stay (no pun intended!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedsgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed at Wanslea for 3 nights in December. We were pleased with the warm and comfortable room. Breakfast was excellent and hearty - just what you need before you go walking. Well situated for Ambleside - 5 minute walk to centre of town. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed at the Wanslea for two nights just over a week ago with a group of friends. Ideally located for shops & restaurants. Very comfortable, warm and welcoming rooms to go back to after a day of hill walking. The hearty breakfast made with good quality produce set us up for the day. Would recommend this guest house & would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennonSonny
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the Wanslea Guest house.

Still great service, Richard is very helpful and again the rooms were very clean and breakfast really nice..

Ideal for our stay in Ambleside.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Arabian themed room, (7) is great with spa bath and kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula220202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights in warm comfortable surroundings, breakfast was excellent and set us up well for the day. Location handily placed for both Ambleside and the lakeside facilities. Richard was friendly and helpful with advice on activities in surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

very pleasant short break. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was good, only a short walk from the centre of Ambleside. Great start to the day with a lovely breakfast. Richard was friendly and helpful. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patgreatayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 103 in Ambleside
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanslea Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanslea Guesthouse

Property: Wanslea Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanslea Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Wanslea Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanslea Guesthouse Hotel Ambleside
Wanslea Guesthouse Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing